We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSS!”
Review of Hotel 502

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 502
Ranked #101 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GROSS!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Where to start?! The front desk help was awesome. that is the ONLY good thing about this place. It says it was under new management, new rooms, etc. If it was undergoing renovation it must have been from 1920! The beds don't have comforters or spreads and some didn't have skirts on them either. The whole room was filthy. The bathroom had rusted ceiling tiles, and water spots on the ceiling. The floor under the sink was water-stained; the sink had leaked at some point and the water was allowed to sit there until it evaporated. The bed was so old that you rolled to the center when you laid down. The carpet was so dirty that we didn't dare remove your shoes and walk on it. The cleaning staff only made our bed, even though we didn't put the eco-green sign out, and the only gave us new (grimy, dingy, stained) towels and never vacuumed. The last day, when we came out of your room, at the end of the hallway, there was a used condom under the air conditioning unit. We did report that to the front desk and they seemed appalled and did have it remove immediately. The pool area was nice, and seemed the only place we wanted to gather. The water in the bathroom shower was so bad that it went from cold to scalding in a matter of seconds. WATCH YOUR CHILDREN!

Room Tip: Go to another motel/hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H502GM, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Barbara B,
I’m so sorry for letting you and your family down. There are guest rooms being renovated, unfortunately they are not complete due to delays in shipments and construction. There are some items in your review that should not have happened and the room should have been clean. Based on your experience at our hotel, I hope you will consider contacting me directly. I would like the opportunity to make things right if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    41
    22
    23
    39
See reviews for
70
38
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

ok, so they are trying to under go a image change well its not working!. The manager Jim is a joke. He wont return calls and even follow uo about my stay. ok, so the entire room was under reno no carpet, no lock on door, they put in new bath room although it was dirty! The shower would go from cold to hot didnt matter how much you adjust. Secuirty walked in my room without knocking while i was getting out of shower. Called down for service items never brought. Hotel said was waiving my stay and on check out didnt honor. Jim, the GM manager said do you expect to stay for free. Never again. I wouldnt if I was you either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dtp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H502GM, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Dtp84
I’m sorry we left you with a poor impression of our hotel and our service. However, as you may recall, there was no record of your reservation through Booking.com. Given that we were sold out, and rather than turn you away, we did inform you that we could accommodate you in a room that was being renovated. The room is designed to be without carpet and is finished with stained concrete. We do have on site security but they generally would not enter an occupied room unless there was an emergency. As we spoke on Sunday in person, there was no mention of hot water issues and there was no discussion that the room would be free. We strive to meet all of our guest’s expectation and take pride in our guest service. We will accept your candid comments and criticism and try our best to improve our service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez,
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel until the construction is complete. I booked this hotel based on photos online and was shocked when I checked in. I have seen "crack houses" that looked better. There were tarps hanging over doorways with caution tape. There was drywall dust and debris on the elevator carpet and no carpet at all in the hallways - only bare concrete and residue from the previous flooring materials. Our keys would not open the doors, but when we finally did get in, the beds had no bedspreads or bed-skirts. Everything looked like it was in progress rather than finished. I was afraid to leave my car in the parking lot for fear of break ins. There were piles of construction material debris in the parking lot, right in front of the entrance to the building we were assigned to. I was a general contractor for fifteen years and I am amazed they were able to get an occupancy permit considering the condition of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I apologize that you experienced our path to a better property. We have had some challenges in the timing and placement of both the guests and the construction. However, we are getting closer to completion and hope that soon you will return to find a refreshed and relaxing experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#104 of 174 in Phoenix
162 reviews
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Encanto
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 502? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 502

Property: Hotel 502
Address: 502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013-2202 (Formerly Camelback Sahara Hotel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#37 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#40 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 502 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 502 is at the heart of The Melrose District just 7 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Conveniently located just 1 block from the 7th Ave. Metro station, providing access to all points of interest including The Phoenix Convention Center, downtown sports and theater venues, museums, shopping, and Sky Harbor Intl. Our enormous pool area provides a great space to relax and soak in the Arizona sun. Rooms are furnished with plush mattresses along with all the pillows you could want, flat screen TV's, in-room Keurig coffee makers. We have meeting space available that can accommodate up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 502 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Camelback Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Red Roof Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing