We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice City, Great People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Island, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice City, Great People”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited Phoenix for the 2014 Fiesta Bowl and decided to stay in downtown to experience the city. We stayed at the Renaissance for the consistency of the Marriott brand. The hotel was fine, what we expected. What put our stay over the top was the staff. Hotel management should recognize what we would consider two of their most valuable assets, Tim and Jesse. Tim was behind the counter, greeted us when we arrived and went out of his way to make sure we had directions and offered suggestions on places to eat. He was my "man on the ground". He seemed to always be there. Jesse was the concierge and spent considerable time with us to plan, last minute, places to visit. He made sure our reservations were set and that we knew where to go. All his recommendations were right on, and his follow up was exceptional. If you visit Phoenix, we recommend you stay here and seek these two guys out. As a side note, we learned Jesse is a prominent local artist, soon to be featured on the Bravo channel. I recommend you seek out his murals in downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review you gave our wonderful hotel and staff! Tim and Jesse are fantastic to work with and they really know their stuff! They are incredibly knowledgeable Navigators and are willing and able to assist with your requests. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    266
    75
    21
    12
See reviews for
72
119
34
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went midweek for a business trip and stayed one night. Received an outstanding corporate rate of less than a 100.00 so that in itself brings everything up a notch.
Hotel appeared fairly newly remodeled and is decorated with a modern appearance. Had a king bedroom on the 8th floor and it was a tad on the smaller side but the layout made it so it didn't feel small. It was perfectly fine for myself and would be for a couple.

Couple of issues - bathtub drain was really slow and the water came down like a water fall so i was standing in 3" of water while showering. My coworker experienced the same thing.
Toilet kept running much longer than normal after flushing. At first thought it was caught so I went to check and it's the toilet. Coworker experienced the same issue with toilet as well.

We had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was very good. prices are in line with almost any other nicer hotel. Service was excellent. We rarely had to ask for anything as our server came around enough and made sure we were taken care of.

Overall, a good experience with some minor hiccups. I would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us, and I apoloize for the issues you encountered with your room. I hope you mentioned this to our staff so it could be addressed immediately. Our goal, is of course, to have situations like this reported and repaired as soon as possible. We hope you'll be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

When you arrive at the Renaissance, you can tell that the staff really tries to make your experience unique. The staff in the Marriott Lounge (Elevate) is top notch; you will not find better Marriott employees anywhere in the US...it also serves breakfast and appetizers/desserts throughout the day. The restaurant, Marstons, and Icon Lounge have made MAJOR improvements to their menus since I first stayed there last January. The restaurant manager has done a great job in identifying their poor performing menu items and replacing them with quality dishes that make their restaurant comparable to the finer dining spots in Phoenix... I was very impressed with this complete transformation.

The Renaissance rooms are small relative to the Hyatt regency, and they are older too. However, they have be renovating their rooms for quite some time and they are finally seeing solid results this past year. After sleeping 100+ nights between the Hyatt Regency/Marriott Renaissance beds, I have to say that the Marriott Renaissance has the more comfy beds.

Both hotels (Renaissance and Hyatt Regency) are centrally located in DT Phoenix, you can want to anywhere in the downtown area. The night life in downtown phoenix isn't the best, so I'd recommend taking a 15 minute cab to Tempe to enjoy the livelier side of the Phoenix area. If there is a Basketball/Baseball event going, it is a 5-7 minute walk to either of these stadiums

Lastly, and most importantly, you want to make sure there is NOT a conference going on in either hotel, as this can be a deal breaker. The Renaissance has the superior staff, reasonably priced food, and has a swanky lounge.

Spending the better part of 2013 in Phoenix hotels, I have to say the Renaissance is the way to go!

Room Tip: There is a rundown building next to the Renaissance that might be undesirable for some people who ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Many thanks for your loyalty and wonderful comments about our beautiful hotel! We converted to a Marriott 2 years ago, and have been working diligently on renovations of every kind since then, and will continue on that path. Elevate lounge is indeed top notch, and I'm glad you enjoyed your time up there on the 19th floor. Yay! Comfy beds! Nothing beats a good night's sleep when you're away from home. The night life in downtown has a lot to offer - be sure and check with our Navigators so they can share the happening spots with you for music, food, entertainment and even bowling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always amazing. Our most recent experience was overnight for a Suns game. The hotel has done some remodeling and the rooms have updated decor and are well appointed.

The bar is very chic with great food selections. My favorite is the chicken enchiladas and my husband love the burger. They offer the most amazing onion dip and chips. And they are only .99. Yes that is right.

From the check in to the check out, this was an awesome experience and we will always chose this hotel for our overnight needs when attending an event downtown. You can walk to Chase Field and US Airways. Also, lots of great restaurants in the area.

The breakfast is also amazing at the hotel. We are Platinum Marriott so usually go to the concierge lounge. Restaurant and concierge breakfast has great food.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room for a breathtaking view of the phoenix area and also the arenas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Okay, you're hired to write all of our marketing pieces! You have hit the nail on the head as to what we are all about - great service, great food and great people! Thank you, thank you, thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a business trip. The location of the hoel is nice not to far from anything. Only thing is that my room wasn't clean even when I requested it. Front desk was very helpful, Valet was awesome. Hotel was a amazing overall. This hotel has a wonderful staff from the moment you leave your car to the front desk. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrobert8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We love you too! Thanks so much for your kind words! I am sorry about your room not being cleaned, that is not typical and it's been addressed. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Well located hotel. Lobby area and public spaces are all in good condition. Comfortable beds, good views of downtown. Check in and check went without incident (that's all one can ask for these days). Overall good service. Meeting and conference spaces were up to standard.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Our location is perfect for the business traveller, and those who want to experience a downtown environment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you'll visit us again soon. Thanks for choosing the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and it was a good hotel. Nice decor and clean. The beds leave a little to be desired. They are not the worst beds I have ever slept in, but these are not the most comfy either.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but I'm disappointed that you thought the bed could be improved upon. We want our guests to have a restful night's sleep, and I'm sorry if we fell short in that area for you. We hope you'll come back again and give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,898 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,577 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing