We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great atmosphere, very chic and modern, friendly and efficient check in, good size and clean rooms, very good fitness center, great fresh breakfast and food in General, the restaurant staff where very friendly and great service, well located ...I can't say enough good things about this hotel.


Points to improve...the concierge breakfast lounge wasn't as good as the one in the lobby and room service could be better as there where remains of someone's breakfast waiting to be picked up on the floor for an entire day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The breakfast in Elevate, our concierge lounge, is intentionally designed to be healthful and easily/quickly available to our guests with all the offerings chef prepared. They do not have the full menu as our restaurant in the lobby, which is common in concierge lounges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    223
    66
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
103
27
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Renaisssance is an easy two block walk from the convention center in downtown Phoenix. During my 5 night stay, the room was comfortable and very spacious. The bed was comfortable. My only complaints are that the room lighting was very dim and that the hotel charged $27 per day for parking.

Unless you plan to spend all of your time at the convention center or other meetings, there is not much to do downtown. The trolley is convenient but it really doesn't travel anywhere useful from downtown. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but if you want to eat something other than average over-priced food, then drive to some other part of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we value it highly. I'm sorry you didn't find things to do while in downtown Phoenix. We have live theater, major sporting events, concert venues, night clubs, bowling, comedy clubs and tons of restaurants - please be sure to ask our Navigators for advice on what's happening while you're here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would not return to this property. The rooms were small and dark. The housekeeping left a lot to be desired...the same dustball stayed on the floor by my door during my entire stay. They did some ultra modern decor in the rooms that just did not work for me.
I did enjoy the concierge lounge. the service was great, breakfasts ample and snacks quite tasty.
Some of the front desk staff were helpful others were not...just not a property I would return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeekPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Please accept our apology for the condition of your room during your stay with us. And I'm sorry you found the room small and dark - our windows take up almost an entire wall, and have the cool cheese grater sun guard. I'm glad you enjoyed Elevate Lounge, it is the best concierge lounge you'll find anywhere! We hope you'll give us another try. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the 19th floor with access to club lounge. Pamela and Ben are the best representatives for your establishment. Both went out of their way to make us feel like we were at home! Went for breakfast each morning. We were always greeted with a smile and warm welcome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Ben and Pam really appreciate your comments - thanks so much for recognizing their exceptional service! Elevate Lounge is the best Concierge lounge you'll find - please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is right downtown, you can walk easily to numerous restaurants. The hotel itself is very nice and has the most decorated lobby and conference center I have ever seen. Tastefully done as well. Sleeping rooms were very nice, only complaint was the beds were a bit hard.
The impressive thing about this hotel, and was remarked about by everyone in my group, was the attention customer service. Just phenomenal. If you walked across the lobby a staff person would ask if you need help with anything. One of the escalators broke during our conference, they stationed someone at the top and bottom of the other escalator- which also had to be turned off- to direct people and help those who could not handle the stairs by getting them to a back elevator. When the morning session was over, they turned on the one escalator to get everyone down quickly, then reversed it temporarily right before the afternoon session to get people back to their sessions.
We had an evening event in a reception area that was a bit hard to locate - and the hotel put staff all along the route to make sure everyone got to the reception easily. Due to the escalator problem-which can't be helped- the hotel provided a very nice break for free for our group-- and a number of staff were on both levels of the conference center to make sure everyone knew about the free refreshments. The hotel management is to be applauded for delivering such amazing service. As I said, it wasn't just me that noticed this 5 star level of service- everyone I was with did as well. (And having stayed at a couple of 5 star hotels, they could not hold a candle to this hotel in terms of overall customer service). Oh, and our room rate was amazing too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Best service oriented hotel EVER! Yipee! That's what we strive for each and every day - thanks very much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for business as our company was hosting a reception & dinner at the hotel. The customer service was among the best I've ever received. From the doormen to the concierge to check-in, it was all top-notch. The food quality and bar service was also excellent. The rooms are well appointed and are very clean.

The fitness center was being remodeled, but the hotel had an arrangement with a Gold's Gym just one block away that granted guests free access. Fantastic!!

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyLordHeuksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for recognizing our staff and their outstanding level of customer service. Our Ambassadors are the best in the business and they genuinely love what they do. Our new fitness center is open now - hope you get an opportunity to come back and utilize it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel and service were good. Location was easy walking to several restaurants and shopping. Lobby was bright and airy. Good refreshing place to charge up for another day of business. Parking was $17/night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about our lovely property. Our lobby and lounge area certainly are cool, aren't they?! Recharge and refresh - that's what I'm talkin' about! Please come back and see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 177 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 177 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#17 of 177 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 50 E Adams St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2329
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover luxury, style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $30 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing