We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best concierge club lounge food ever in a nice renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best concierge club lounge food ever in a nice renovation”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is nicely rennovated older property with a number of great features. First and foremost the new club floor lounge called Elevate is really nice and has the best food I've seen at any property including Ritz and Four Seasons. I travel 100K plus yearly and was blown away by the chef prepared evening dishes including short rib lettuce wraps made fresh and tonight an amazing arugula salad as well as fantastic breads and cheeses. The rooms are nice and as expected for the level of the property while on the larger side because its an older building. The gym is functional but for serious workouts you can show your card at the Golds Gym and use it for free. The downtown area is very convenient to all areas of extended Phoenix but also has plenty within walking as well. Staff was really nice, friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DCHTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
That's what I'm talkin' about! Elevate Lounge having the best food EVER! Our chefs are the best in the biz and they take incredible pride in what they prepare for our Discoverers. They carefully hand pick locally grown produce, and use recipes from their grandmother - be sure to check out Chef Marco's guacamole. Or should I say his grandmother's guacamole!
Thanks for the kudos and please come back soon to see what new things they'll have up their sleeves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    268
    75
    21
    12
See reviews for
74
121
34
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was a great experience, the location is probably the best of all hotels in downtown Phoenix and was its most favorable attribute. The hotel is close to the convention center as well as all the sporting venues (Chase field, US Airways arena, etc). The staff was also very accommodating, especially Floyd (greeter/bellman) and Tim (the Navigator). The rooms were clean and neat, but nothing spectacular as compared to other Renaissance hotels. It is easy to tell that the hotel is older, but they have done the best they could to make it look newer. The room and hallways were quiet and well-cooled (which is important for Phoenix in the summer). If you have more specific questions or would like pictures feel free to contact me directly at info@sodynamite.com

Room Tip: There is one side of the property that has a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamitetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
You certainly can't beat our location for everything that is downtown Phoenix! Floyd and Tim are our most famous Ambassadors - thanks for mentioning them. And to address your comments about the age of our property, I'm glad to say that we are conducting some renovations over the summer months! Please come back and check us out after completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights while attending a convention at the convetion center which was just a block away. The hotel was really nice. Our room was at the end of a hallway and twice the size of the other rooms. It had a wrap-around sofa, coffee table, table, chairs, wet bar, double wide closet, double sinks in the dressing area and 2 queen beds. The hotel had fresh fruit available in the fitness room and at the front desk. Fruited, cold water was available in the lobby. Very pretty and well-kept hotel. Several restaurants were withing walking distance as was a CVS.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbmobileal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
5 nights of wonderfulness - sounds like that sums up your stay with the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel! Our location is perfect for all things 'downtown'. Thanks so much for your kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I want you all to know that we went for Comicon weekend, which is a blast and Floyd Jones are Doorman/Navigator was wonderful. He made sure we were taken care of at all times. The entire staff is there to serve you. The rooms are very nice and are undergoing renovation, which means they will only get better. Thank you Renaissance for making our weekend awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, they are starting on the 19th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Another Comicon participant - I'm telling you, we can't get enough of you all! Floyd Jones knows his stuff - he remembers details like no one else and he genuinely wants your stay to be as pleasant and stress fee as possible. So come on back, and thanks for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I attended Phoenix Comicon this year and stayed at the Renaissance at Downtown Phoenix.

It was one block from the convention center with plenty of eating locations nearby. It also hosted several events for the convention, so that was a big plus.

This hotel has valet parking and it's very convenient specially if you don't plan on going too far from the place like myself.

The rooms are nice and big. We got a pool view, which was great during the convention's swimsuit contest. :)

This is the third time I stay at a Renaissance hotel during a convention and I have been very happy all 3 times. From the way they received me and my friends, to taking our things to our room. It was a fast and easy check in process and has a very nice cozy bar area.

I really can't say anything bad about this place. Regardless of the event going on, never heard any noise from any of the other rooms.

I will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juve_GLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Yay Comicon - we love all of you! What a great week of having you with us. We look forward to it every year - you bring excitement and way cool costumes for us to enjoy! Thanks for sharing your stellar experience with everyone - can't wait to see you next May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was here a week for a conference. I was quite happy with the hotel. It is in a convenient location across the street from a light rail platform. My room was very nice and clearly recently renovated. Best part was the staff - they were super friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esperantisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments about our wonderful hotel! Our staff is the best in the business and we love it when guests take the time to share that with the world. Thanks so much and we hope you'll come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Let me tell you, this is one of my favorite hotels down town. First of all, the staff is very friendley and helpful... The rooms are big and nice.. Very clean and modern... The bathrooms are also very clean and spacious... Its within walking distance to the movie theaters, Chase field, U.S. Airways areana and several restaurants... Now, the one thing that I dont like is the parking situation.. You either will have to pay the $ 27.00 per day for valet, try to find parking on the street which is metered but free on the weekends, or find a parking garage nearby which they have at $12 per day no "in and out" privileges, some hotles offer a $19.99 package per day which includes the "in & out" privileges but not this one....That would be my only grip... Over all, I would definitely recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: Do your research on were to park to avoid paying there $27.00 a night valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigaldeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel! Sounds like you had a near perfect stay with us, the valet cost being the downer for you. We keep our fingers on the pulse of urban hotel valet prices, and we're right in the middle of the pack. We offer bundle packages, so you might like to check into that for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,940 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,581 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing