We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate -- but at these prices???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
504 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Adequate -- but at these prices???”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Paying well past $300 for a hotel where the TV doesn't work, where you asked for a king bed (and the front desk confirmed that) and you get a small room with two doubles within earshot of the elevators...does this sound right to you? Yes, the hotel had a few things going for it...decent location...but this was not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
WOW... we are so sorry that we did not follow through on what we committed. Due to this post, we are going to revisit our process fulfilling requestes to minimize the chance of this happening again. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    266
    75
    21
    12
See reviews for
72
119
34
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great locale close to everything in downtown Phoenix so walking or taking the ligth rail is easy. Just been renovated with all the rooms and main facilities--nice decor. The lobby is a little dark but comfortable and lots of places for small groups to gather and you can talk within those groups easily and not be drowned out by the surrounding noise. Nice lounge bar with a reverse happy hour that does not start til later in the evening with half price food and drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It sounds like you had an excellent experience with us, and we are very delighted! Thanks for sharing all this fantastic information with all the great folks who also use Trip Advisor. Please come back and stay with us as soon as you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Checked in on Sunday night, very quick and easy. Room on 18th floor overlooking pool, 9 out of 10 for the room, too dim (thanks to the CFL bulbs in every light). Got a great work out in the gym on 5th floor. Tried to have dinner in the lobby bar/lounge with 3 colleagues, waited about 15 minutes and decided to get our own menus to help, dinner finally showed up after 2 rounds of very slowly nursed beers, asparagus was burned, mashed potatoes were cold, salmon was screaming hot (a.k.a. over cooked), and if you were wondering it wasn't because they were busy the place was mostly deserted. Stuck to the concierge lounge for breakfast, very nice with pleasant staff. Thought about having lunch in lobby restaurant, but when I went down I walked into the restaurant, there was one table of diners, I slowly walked around all the tables and back out because I only had 45 minutes to burn not hours and hours so went else where. Enjoyed the concierge lounge again for dessert and drinks in the evening, and again for a nice breakfast. Waited for 30 minutes for valet car on way home. Could have been a near perfect business trip, but until they can get the folks on the lobby level to have some desire to provide timely service, I would recommend enjoying the amenities on the 5th and 19th floor and going else where for meals and beverages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarCoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post and provide your feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, our brand new Elevate Club Lounge and that you were able to get in an effective workout while staying with us! A 30 minute wait for your car at valet is extraordinary and certainly not our standard and your experience in ICON Lounge is also the exception not the norm. If you have the time, I would like to personally discuss your experience with you. Please call me directly at 602-333-5200. Thank you, Paige Lund – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived late (11pm) and found the valet parking was friendly and easy. The lobby bar was lively and the guest rooms are beautiful. Excellent and friendly service from the staff. They gave me a deal on the wireless access ($10 off if combined with valet parking). Attending a meeting in Salon1-2. The space is comfortable, clean, modern and fresh. Lovely outdoor pool area and full service restaurant. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
How wonderful to be greeted by a warm and friendly valet after a long day of travel and a late arrival! ICON Lounge is very often lively throughout the evening and our Ambassadors are the best in the biz! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First, I would like to thank Emmanuel and Macy of Reception for their outstanding professionalism and understanding on how they rectified my problem with my reservation.
Both went way above the call of duty to help me. These young people are an example of taking pride in your job and being the best of what they do.

Second, is the staff of ELEVATE , the Elite member lounge. Some of the most helpful and professional people, in particular, Dora and Benjamin.

The whole experience here is delightful.

I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to stay in downtown Phoenix.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31310GrantM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
That's what I'm talkin' about! Emmanuel and Macy are part of the Renaissance team who are all the best at what they do! They totally get it - and yes, they take great pride in their jobs.
ELEVATE - our brand new Marriott Elite Club member lounge hosted by the spectacular team of Ben, Dora and Albert! They really make it an experience to remember!
Thanks for mentioning them by name - I'll be sure they see your gracious comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location, 1 1/2 blocks from Convention Center. Courteous and accommodating staff. Had a great substantial breakfast in the cafe. VERY comfy beds- did NOT want to get up in the morning! Downside is that downtown Phoenix has nothing going for it. Had to take a car to Biltmore Fashion Mall to go shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

In my opinion this is a flagship hotel in the Marriott chain. The staff are outstanding and genuinely make you feel welcome.

I was very happy with this property before, quality large rooms, great location and amenities but they have now gone one step further by opening the Elevate club lounge on the top floor. The lounge is very modernly decorated with plenty of room for a food area and a business area.

The quality of the staff and the food and drink provided is excellent.

Yes I am a fan of this property!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyboyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Holy Moly - Flagship hotel!!! That is an incredible statement and thank you very much! We take great pride in our Ambassadors, our brand new Elevate Lounge, and every detail about our beautiful property. Since becoming a Renaissance a mere 14 months ago, we feel we have made great strides in representing the best of the best. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,891 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
1,576 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing