We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosmetically beautiful - not so much under the surface” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosmetically beautiful - not so much under the surface”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights from Saturday 26th to Monday 28th and although we were impressed by the look at set up of the hotel, our hotel room experience was less impressive.

First of all we met with a couple of relatives in Phoenix and chose to have something to eat at the bar. We ordered a flat bread which all four came out well over cooked, it was impossible to enjoy with a slightly burnt taste and the flat bread cracking into pieces whenever attempting to bite into it. We all chose not to finish our flat breads and ended the night there.

When we eventually walked into our room we found that the bath was just under half full with black particles on the bottom! We could only assume that this meant that the bathroom had not been cleaned properly and we called reception for someone to come up and sort it out so we could have a shower after travelling to Phoenix.

Reception informed us that there was nothing they could do at the time and that they would send someone up before 9am the next morning. So at half 9 the next morning we had to call reception to ask for someone to clean the bath (and re-explain the situation). Someone arrived 20 minutes later to clean the bath.

We also discovered a Starbucks bag full of old rubbish behind the bathroom bin which pretty much wraps up our overall impressions of this hotel.

very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philscrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. First and foremost, we are deeply sorry for your less than perfect experiences while you were in our care.

Please let me say how sorry we are that upon arrival your bath tub was not in flawless condition. Ensuring our rooms are completely clean and in working order is out top priority and we will ensure our processes are sound to prevent issues of this nature from reoccurring. Thank you again, for bringing this to our attention and providing us with an opportunity to correct.

In regard to your meal in our lounge, we regret that your flat bread was over cooked – this not our standard. We would love an opportunity to speak with you in person about your experiences, so I invite you to contact me directly at marty.rider@marriott.com

Thank you, and again, our deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    251
    73
    19
    10
See reviews for
68
113
32
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

So the rooms are a good size nicely furnished and the linens particularly the towels are great. Love the AVEDA toiletries.
However the corridors elevators and ice / vending areas are very dated and showing the wear. Plus you can hear every noise in the corridors inside your room. Don't expect to sleep in.

No self-park option so expect to pay $30 with tips for valet.

The staff were all pretty friendly. The lobby lounge has great drink and light food options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandRLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad you chose us when visiting Phoenix! Thanks for your kind words about the appointments in our rooms and our AVEDA products rock! The vending areas are dated, I agree, and they are on our list for renovation. Since we acquired this property a year ago we are diligently working on every aspect of the hotel to bring it up to the standards our Discoverers expect and deserve. There are self parking options in lots that are within 2 blocks of the hotel, and also free meter parking from 5pm - 8am weekdays and free 24 hours on the weekends. So come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were recently in town for a conference and the Renaissance was our host hotel. I am amazed at how courteous all of the staff were throughout the entire hotel. Their lobby area is very relaxing and accommodating for whatever you are doing- cocktails/working or mingling.
Rooms are very nice, love the AVEDA amenities too! They also have a executive lounge called ELEVATE that is fabulous! I would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderfully kind words describing your experience with us! Our Ambassadors strive each and every day to be the very best they can be. Our brand new Marriott Elite Members lounge, Elevate, is indeed the most happening place in downtown! We hope you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I chose this hotel for a conference at the convention center a block away, and did not regret it. The room served fine for work and sleep, and wireless Internet turned out to be included in the rate. The lobby lounge provided a convenient light dinner the night before leaving.

Room Tip: Rooms in the northwest quadrant of the hotel look directly at a derelict adjoining building; ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for choosing us, we sincerely appreciate it! The lobby lounge, ICON, is such a cool place to grab a quick bite or full dinner with our signature cocktails. We hope you'll back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great staff! Especially Albert, Rhonda, Benjemin, Tim and Dora. Great location for all things downtown. The outside says 70's but the the inside says 2013. There's extra love for platinum members as the lounge prob is the nicest I've been in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
That's what we're all about - great people and great service! And our Ambassadors in the new Marriott Elite members lounge - Elevate - are all that and more! Extra love is right - come back and feel the love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in Phoenix on business and stayed here for 5 nights. Everything was perfect! Room was spotless, AC was great, bed was AMAZING, staff was more than fabulous! I'm not a huge fan of hotel food so I can't comment much on that...I did have an omelet which was one of the best I've had but we ventured out for food. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmarie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Yippee! I'm delighted that you had such a spectacular experience at our hotel! Thanks so much for your kind words, and please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The lobby and resturant are clean and nice. My room on the other hand was dirty and old. I'm not a clean freak by any means but look at the photo...really? And that's on the corner of the bed. Yuck! Also no fan in the bathroom makes for a steamy shower super quick. The bed coverlet had stains on it as did the colored throw pillows. The heater was set to 74 and I had to get up 4 times in the night to turn it down to 68, just to wake up an hour later at it back up to 74. The staff here as all marriott a was great and I'm sure they would have moved me but who wants to pack up at 1am and move? Also I didn't see the diet I took this photo of till next morning...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so terribly sorry that your room was not prepared as it should have been. This is not indicative of our standards, so we are very disappointed. We have addressed this issue so it will not happen again - ultimately, your comments help us be better. We invite you to connect directly with us if you'd like to talk about this further. Thanks for the gift of feedback, and we hope you'll give us another chance to show you what we can do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#29 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#9 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing