We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Thurmont, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, good service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a conference at the convention center. The location was convenient to the center and to restaurants of varying styles and price levels. There were more places open on weekdays than the weekend, though. The hotel was attractive and well maintained. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We spoke several times to the "Navigator" in the lobby about places to go and things to do in the area and found him to be a good resource, also. We did not have a car so parking wasn't an issue. We did rent one for a day trip and found that taking the light rail to the airport to rent a car from out there was the cheapest way to go for us. The light rail is close to the hotel. We stayed during a cold snap and had an issue with our heat. When we called about it, a maintenance man arrived within minutes to correct it. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor with a nice view toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Wow! That's what we're aiming for - comfortable, friendly, good service! We're delighted you had such a pleasant experience with us. Those views of the mountains are spectacular! Please come back and enjoy them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    268
    75
    21
    12
See reviews for
74
121
34
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First thing is first....the service is fantastic! Every single person I encountered was polite, helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy helping me out.

The location is great especially since my conference was at the convention center. The rooms were nice but do watch out for the short ceilings in the bathroom area. The furnishings were great and the beds were very comfy.

Now for the parking....they only offer Valet at TWENTY SEVEN DOLLARS a day. That's absurd to me....they could still get by just fine charging in the 10-15 range. I called ahead and gave the dates of my stay and asked if there would be meters around and I was told "no problem, lots of meters and they're free on the weekend" turns out there was a motor cross thing going on and the closest meter was near 7th Ave., far away with all my luggage. Then during the week I had to move my car during the say to a pay lot, then move it back to a meter overnight and repeat the next day. So aside from the parking it was splendid and I'd most likely stay again if another hotel didn't have free/reduced parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It's awesome that you loved our service so much! We do have the best team in town! As for your parking experience, I'm very sorry you were inconvenienced by moving your car so many times. Our valet rate is in line with all the other downtown hotels and we keep your vehicle covered, secured and safe for the time you are with us. Thanks for your remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thank you to Ben and Fora for their attentive and courteous service in this property's newly renovated club lounge. Selection of snacks and food options was excellent. Lighting was perfect to work and surroundings were cozy and modern. See you again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hooray! Our new club lounge for Elite members, Elevate, is up and running and a huge success! We're the only hotel in downtown Phoenix to offer such a club. Ben and Dora and Albert are incredible Ambassadors, and how lucky for you to have had a chance to spend time with them. Thanks for your kinds words about Ben and Dora - they are thrilled you were impressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was an excellent deal for a downtown hotel. It was conveniently located within walking distance to many sites and attractions, and the price was, on the surface, quite reasonable.

But, this hotel does have some side charges that add up fast. First of all, they only offer valet parking, which is over $20 a day. And, unless you specify that you will not be having breakfast, this is an additional charge to your bill. When all was said and done, I ended up paying a bit more than the $119 a night I was expecting (I'm sure a lot of this was the taxes and other fees that they have to add on). Nevertheless, for a nice downtown hotel with very nice rooms, I was happy with my stay despite the end cost. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the total of charges so you aren't surprised by the final billed amount, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigantK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I'm so sorry for the confusion ; it is not our practice to add a breakfast charge to your bill. I would appreciate an opportunity to talk to you about what you experienced, so we can figure out what happened. 602-333-0000.That aside, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We made a last minute decision to stay at this hotel after a Diamond Backs Game and had an amazing experience. Not only was the hotel beautiful... the rooms were clean and the staff was very nice and accommodating. You can't beat the location, almost everything you need within walking distance. Overall an amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Go DBacks! How lucky for us that you chose to stay here after your Diamondbacks game. It sounds like we WOW'd you with our stellar service and accommodations. Please drop in again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Renaissance Phoenix Downtown is in the right location - right downtown in the middle of all the shops, restaurants & bars. Very nice lobby with every ammenity you could need. Rooms are larger than most, clean, and very well appointed. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We love our location, thanks for noticing! We are indeed smack dab in the middle of everything that is downtown Phoenix! When you were here, our lobby was decorated for the Holidays, so you had a chance to see its sparkle and lights - quite beautiful if I do say so myself! It's terrific to travel and have such a great Ambassadors to help you feel at home. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent two nights at the Renaissance on a business trip. Nice property, good value. A bit dated, but very clean with helpful customer service. Very close to the downtown sports venues and corporate centers. Room was very quiet, which was a pleasant surprise after long work days. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're delighted that you chose us for your business trip! AND that you slept so well in our very quiet rooms. We're glad you're coming back - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,939 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 174 in Phoenix
1,581 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
Address: 100 N 1st St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an artful and memorable urban retreat when you book a stay at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We offer easy access to some of the city's finest attractions, including the Talking Stick Resort Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Chase Field (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), Phoenix Zoo, Orpheum Theatre and Heard Museum. Plus, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) is just 4 miles from our front doors. Guest rooms at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel feature stylish decor, luxurious bedding, LCD TVs, premium bath amenities and spectacular cityscape views. Enjoy fine dining at our celebrated restaurants, and stay in shape at our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated rooftop pool. Discover style and comfort at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Please note that valet parking for the hotel costs $32 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing