We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$529
$379
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$327
$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$94
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveler rating
529
296
85
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
296
85
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerthe concierge loungeloss preventionfront deskfifth floorwithin walking distancelobby bartwo blocksrooftop poolhotel is beautifulchase fieldbusiness tripattending a conferenceevery staff membercomfortable roomsper daylight rail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 949 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable rooms in a very convenient location. Great restaurants, sports bars and entertainment within easy walking distance. Perfect place to stay to attend Diamondback games or a show at the Convention Center! Concierge Lounge is small and offers only coffee, cold drinks and small snacks but Elite members receive free buffet breakfast and appetizer each weekday.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Hello Ron!
Sounds like you had a great time with us - fantastic! Our current concierge lounge is temporary, due to the fact that our full scale Chic Lounge is under construction and will make its debut in December of this year. I hope you check back in with us so you can share that experience. Thanks so much for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are very nice, service was excellent, But They had an event scheduled by the pool, I was on the 17th floor and the music was rocking the walls. Could not use the pool all day,they did offer to move us to another room,but would not turn the music down, very disturbing. They should let guests know if the pool will,not be available before they book. The event lasted until 8:00 pm. Also did not have T.V. Channel directories in the room, when I called for one they said they were out of them. Other than that, Ok

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindyjean48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Hello! We're delighted you enjoyed your room and that you received outstanding service from our Ambassadors! We're sorry for the incovenience you experienced with the event by the pool, but I'm glad to hear our staff offered to move you to another location in the hotel that would have been more quiet for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, the Renaissance is convenient to the USAirways Center (the Suns) and Chase Field (the Diamondbacks), the Herberger Theater (theater and dance companies) and the Symphony hall, as well as the AZ Science Center and the convention center.

On par with other Renaissance hotels, the lobby is modern and spacious with a number of art/sculpture pieces, a bar/lounge, gift shop, and open seating area. The hotel restaurant is located just off the lobby but was undergoing renovations and had only limited menu during my stay.

My room was average size, clean, comfortable, with a desk, chair/ottman and dresser and a king bed. I'm not sure where the trend came from for all the pillows that are on beds these days, but you won't lack in that department. The bathroom was also very clean on check-in and the room was serviced to top-notch standards each day.

There is a ballroom and a number of meetings located on premise, but a separate entrance and parking on that side of the hotel seemed to keep local attendees from packing the hotel common areas. A pool on an upper level deck and an outdoor reception paito were very pleasant in the warm spring temperatures.

In addition to the entertainment nearby, there are a number of nearby restaurants. Hanny's, located across the street, is an urban chic gathering spot with terrific artisan pizzas. The Arrogant Butcher located a couple blocks down offers great service with an interesting antipasti selection and a terrific gumbo. Service at both was terrific. The Strand is a pleasant Italian restaurant where I enjoyed a very messy (and very good) meatball sandwhich.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Renaisance again if I needed a downtown Phoenix hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

WOW! We couldn't have written this better if we did it ourselves! Sounds like you had a fantastic time at our hotel and in downtown Phoenix. We both have a lot to offer the discerning traveller. Next time you're with us, be sure to ask our incredibly knowledgeable Navigators for even more tips on where to go and things to do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I want to thank Alex, the concierge! We arrived to the hotel with a stroke of bad luck (car trouble). Alex noted our stress level and went above and beyond to make our day all the better! His kindness made such an impact on our wonderful weekend! As for the hotel, BEAUTIFUL and very clean! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thanks for this wonderful review! We're so glad Alex was there to help you through the situation with your car - we're lucky to have him on our team! We will most certainly let him know of your kind words - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On a last minute trip we decided to book a hotel near US Airways Center so we totally rolled the dice on Priceline and thankfully landed at the Renaissance! We had a little bump at check-in that was completely our fault, but Emmanuel at the front desk courteously helped us solve our booking mishap and got us in a perfect room on the pool deck! The bellman – I wish I could remember his name – who took up our bags was super helpful in explaining all the amenities of our room and the hotel.

Later in the evening we needed the help of another bellman, and Rodney came to our aid. He was a bit odd and made a pass at my traveling companion – which was funny at first but became a little creepy as time passed. He kept hovering while we had drinks at the bar. No harm done, we laugh about it now. But in the moment it was a rather uncomfortable.

Aside from the one unprofessional staff member we had a great time. The linens were crisp, the bathroom was quite immaculate and the iPod doc in our room was brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

It's awesome that Emmanuel helped you with your booking mishap and scored a room on the pool deck for you! And yes, the iPod docs are very popular - glad you enjoyed it. We're very sorry about the situation with one of our bellman, and you can trust us that it was handled internally as soon as your post was received. Thanks for your honesty - we count on this kind of feedback to keep us on top of what we need to know. We sure hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews