We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a conference stay in Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bell Hotel Inn & Suites
Ranked #148 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked online and arrived for a conference not knowing Phoenix or this hotel at all. We had a room with two queen beds, a work area, an in-room microwave, small fridge and coffee maker, for $79 a night. Rooms were clean and smoke-free, bathroom was spotless, we enjoyed the outdoor pool, and the reception was helpful and friendly. We had a great experience. Our five-night stay cost less than $450, which we split.

I will definitely stay here next time I am in Phoenix--four blocks to the Convention Centre and main hotels like the Hyatt and Sheraton for after-event meetings, and other attractions. We felt safe walking back at night along well-lit Van Buren Street.

The owner manager Walt will arrange a tour to the Grand Canyon (4.5 hour drive) and/or to Sedona (1.5 hours). We will try to do that next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 344 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed here for a month while on business in Glendale. Very nice staff and accomodating. Nice and quiet during the week....but weekends are another story. Extremely noisy and seems to attract the party crowds. NOT A FAMILY HOTEL.

One Friday after a long day of work, I was kept up until 5:30 in the morning....and the night staff wasn't able to curb the yelling, door slamming and drunkeness in the parking lot throughout the night. This is no exageration. Every weekend I stayed during the month had at least one night like this where people were parting till early in the AM.

Again, during the week, it is a great place because nobody is here. Weekends, a whole different story. If you have kids or are looking for a nice quiet place - this is NOT the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, Manager at Bell Hotel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We are sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. We did speak with the rowdy guests as they were in town for the Beer Pong Festival. Please let us assure you, this is not an average night at the Super 8 Bell Hotel. We hope you will give us another chance to make your stay more pleasurable in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is my second times staying at this motel. I love it and will come back again in the future. The staffs are very nice and helpful, especially the front desk lady name Debra. Debra treats me like a princess. The house keepers are very friendly and they did a great job by keeping the room very clean and well organize.
The motel location is very convienent and closes to the freeway 17. Beside that, it is a very quite and peaceful place where I can sleep well. The room is very clean and comfortable bed. The price is very cheap including free internet, breakfast, large parking lot, and excellent service. I would highly recommend this motel to everyones.

The most important thing that I love about this motel is that they treat their customers like a family. I am a medical staff, I chose this motel not because of the cheap price, but because of their excellent services.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, Director of Sales at Bell Hotel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you so much, it is always a pleasure having you at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. ~ The Entire Staff of Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had 2 rooms for a 6 might stay. The hotel apparently has been (is being) updated. Our rooms were clean with very good king size beds. We got a terrific rate as part of a trip package. Both rooms were better then we expected at this price range. One of the rooms had a refrig / microwave / coffee maker, the other didn't. It was not an issue for us and otherwise the rooms were of equal quality - clean and comfortable. The wireless was speedy. We've stayed in a few dumps over the years and this is NOT one of them. This is Phoenix and there are too many underutilized hotels, it keeps the prices down but there are many many in various states of disrepair and this one is much better than others we have stayed in.

We would definitely stay here again. The one remark about slow tube drains is true but it is impacted by the drain cover, after we adjusted that the water flow was much better

Room Tip: Ask about microwave, refrig, coffee maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Got here at 1:30PM told I had to wait till 3PM to check in, there is 3 checking parking spots and one was fill all day by an employee. The drains are very slow, the tub water will fill to above your ankles when in the shower and the toilet does not flush all the way. Caution in rm 121 as the microwave will burn your stuff. The room was Ok, just could of been cleaned better and the plumbing needs work bad....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSkully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, Director of Sales at Bell Hotel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we didn't have a room for you when you came to the hotel. We are in our busiest month of the year and sell out nearly every night, which means we didn't have a vacant room ready for you. We strive to keep our hotel clean and in working order, I am sorry we fell short during your stay. This is not typical of our service and ask that you give us a chance to make your next Phoenix stay a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've stayed in lots of Super 8s, so we weren't expecting the Ritz or anything, but quite honestly they're usually a decent room at a great price. Not this time. The room was dirty (there was "stuff" embedded in the walls in the bathroom, and I'm just not gonna speculate on what it was), and the walls must have been less than an inch thin. We could hear every "conversation" the loud guy next door had with his bratty kids, and every morning it sounded like the maids were working with heavy equipment right outside our door. Nothing like 2-3 hours of off-and-on sleep to start each vacation day off right! I still think Super 8s can be a good deal - but steer clear of this one.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, and find a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were in town from Denver on business and just needed a place for one night so we thought, "Why not Super 8?" The experience answered that question. We needed four single rooms total. When first walking into the lobby we were told they could accommodate us. After a few minutes of deciding where to stay we went back in and were told they only had one single available. We negotiated and were able to get doubles for the price of a single. All of us got our room keys, and proceeded to get baggage out of the rental car. 3/4 of the keys didn't actually unlock any doors, and we were told it was due to being too close to electronics. The one key that did work had 115 written on it. We open the door to 115, there is luggage open on the beds and the shower is running. (Good thing we didn't catch a glance) Returned to office and told them of the situation and she said, "Sorry, were doing training and you were supposed to get 215." The lock to another one of our rooms still wouldn't unlock. They switched that room to 219. Our manager was uncomfortable with having an adjoining room to another room where we didn't know someone. So we switched 215 to 220. After driving 13 hours to Peoria, we all were in need of rest. After waking we found the towels were dirty, there were cigarette burns in a non-smoking room, and upon close inspection there was blood splatter on the walls, carpet, and curtains. The security latch in 219 was also separating from the door. The drain and stopper were missing from the bathtub. The grout in the bathroom looks like it hasn't been scrubbed since the place was built. There was a coffee pot, but no coffee. I told the attendant in the office about our experience at checkout and she said, "Well you should have came down first thing to let us know about the problem." I'm sorry but after driving for half a day I'm not going to inspect our room, go down to the office, and have them switch the room once again.. But I guess next time I know. Not that next time we will stay at the Super 8. Not to mention it was hard to sleep because they have a 24 hour maintenance team doing more talking than working in the parking lot.

Room Tip: Just get back in your car and turn around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raimund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, Director of Sales at Bell Hotel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you for your review. Since recently taken over this hotel, we have been doing some training at the front desk, as we have taken past guests advice and are upgrading our staff. We are looking into this situation very carefully and apologize for any inconvenience you have had while staying at the Super 8.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel Inn & Suites

Address: 17211 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85023-2249 (Formerly Howard Johnson Phoenix North)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $48 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Hotel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Motel with adobe-brick exterior located in north Phoenix at Bell Road & I-17. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bell Hotel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Bell Hotel Phoenix
Best Western Phoenix
Phoenix Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing