We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for happy hour”
Review of Bobby Q

Bobby Q
Reserve with OpenTable
Bobby Q is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 3,105 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Cross street: 1-17 between Dunlap & Northern
Description: The creator of Bobby McGee’s brings you Bobby Q. With Meats smoked up to 20 hours, to our in house, hand-cut steaks, you'll have no problem finding a meal to appeal to your appetite!! Reservations are taken for the dining room only.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for happy hour”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are looking for a fun night with friends or an after work social hour this is the place to meet up. With a nice dining area coupled with a large dance floor all perfectly segregated so both groups can enjoy their visit this is a fun place. The food was enjoyable and I highly recommend trying the pineapple drink where they take a whole pineapple cut out the insides and make a tropical concoction. My wife and daughter loved these!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azbizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,107
    374
    93
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious barbecue here”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A nice place for some delicious pulled pork sandwiches and really good potato salad. The dessert was wonderful, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judydrake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great food -- really nice staff”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's a quaint building. There is outdoor (porch) seating if you want. The inside is nice.
There are rotisserie chickens rotating around in the kitchen window. I may try that next time!

We got a kid's burger, which was good size -- very tasty. Came with thin fries that my boys loved!

I had the beef brisket sandwich. YUM! A waiter brought me extra BBQ sauce, with a choice of regular or spicy. The spicy was awesome! I got mac n cheese, which was very creamy.

My husband had fried chicken with mashed potatoes and gravy. He loved it.

My favorite part was the little bag of warm donuts they bring you with the check. Bite-sized, warm dough covered in cinnamon and sugar! A nice surprise!
We'll be returning for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HRSHYLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to Bobby Q's last night for dinner. There was a wait, but being just the two of us, we were able to secure seats at the bar, which is full service. It was nice to see they had one or two local brews on tap, however I think they could do better on the beer selection.

We order the Q rolls for an appetizer. I am not much for fried food, but those bad boys are delicious. They are lightly fried with the the most tender, juicy brisket inside. And they don't skimp on the meat in that appetizer. It was a meal itself.

My husband and I order the Whole Hog Heaven to share. Baby back ribs were fall off the bone tender, you just at them with a fork. I am not a fan of beef ribs, but I have to say the beef ribs here were very tender and juicy, and very tasty. We also had the sausage and rotisserie bbq chicken. Sausage was so good, but the chicken was outstanding. Perfectly cooked, juicy and delicious. This ridiculous portion also came with three sides. We chose mac and cheese, coleslaw and fries. We loved every side, but the mac and cheese was cleared out immediately. So good. And of course we had a HUGE amount of leftovers. We used the left over meat to make bbq sandwiches the next day.

We had great service as the bar. There were two-three people tending the bar at all times and the service was excellent. Our bartender was super nice, gave us good recommendations on the menu, and kept our drinks filled. Also loved the fun, lively atmosphere of the restaurant. Their outdoor patio looked like something we would like to take advantage of in cooler months. We had a great time, a great meal, and will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So good we went back again”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

On holiday in Phoenix we normally go to the outback for steaks/ribs, well not any more. We were staying in Litchfield park so it was a 35? min drive? When you pull in you think... Really this is it? However don't let the outside put you off as soon as you get inside the smell will envelope you and the interior is perfect for a BBQ joint.

The free corn bread is to die for (never tried it before). We tried the three meat combo on the first trip (chicken (OK), brisket (good), baby back ribs (now you're talking fall off the bone deliciousness). On our second trip we had ribs again with sausage, our sides were beans, pecan coleslaw and string fries.

Take a tip from me we were surprised with the quick turnaround from ordering to eating so much so on our first visit I only had time for one drink and we were too full for a pudding (did I mention the free mini still hot doughnuts?). So on our second visit we arrived early for a few drinks at the bar but beware those cocktails are lethal!

I can't wait to return!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneb933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby Q also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bobby Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing