We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An unexpected surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo

Cibo
Ranked #48 of 2,912 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I'm Italian and usually when I'm abroad I like to try italian restaurants to see how close they are from our cusine. This one was a real surprise, especially the pizza. As a start we had arancini, very good, you can taste they are home made. Than we had the pizza. It was superb, great ingredients, great taste, as the real one! The dessert was good, crepe with nutella and mascarpone. Last but not least the price was not bad for the great dinner we had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank White M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    77
    27
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Do try out Cibo’s Restaurant for great Italian food and ambience. Sit outside if it isn’t too hot. The antipasto, salad and pizza were terrific.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank plheureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one - very good gluten-free pizza crust”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I loved this restaurant set in an old bungalow in downtown Phoenix. We cycled there from my hotel for dinner one night - they had a separate, spacious area for bike racks - and we sat outdoors in the leafy front garden. It had a lovely vibe, relaxed, friendly and it certainly didn't feel as though you were in the heart of a big city. The food was good and best of all, they make a really good gluten free pizza base which is no mean feat. They had a good selection of wines and the service was friendly and efficient. We really enjoyed the experience and highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good salads and pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A group of 8 friends (4 couples) went here for dinner as it was near the theatre we would be attending for an evening performance. The evening special appetizer was arroncini, fried rice balls. The table shared one order. They were crispy but not greasy on the outside, with a filling that tasted more cheesy than ricey ~ and that's not a complaint. My husband and I snared a salad of mixed greens with goat cheese, candied wanuts, cucumbers, onions and strawberries. We got the balsamic vinaigrette on the side for better control and loved the flavor combination of this salad. Our pizza was the funghi, mushrooms over red sauce and mozzarella cheese. It was very thin with a crispy, slightly charred in places crust. Although flavorful, it was not carefully cut, with some overly huge slices and a few that were minuscule. Two dessert crepes (the only type of dessert served here) were shared bymthe table: crepe Suzette and nutella with banana. Both were delicious. But be warned ~ when you are asked if you want ice cream with it, that will be $2 extra. However, prices are fairly reasonable. The service was top notch although tables are a bit close to each other. I would return here if I was in the area again, although I would not make this a destination on it's own.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelilnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Italian sandwiches and tasty salads for lunch in downtown Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Cibo is best known for their pizzas, which are only served at dinner. Lunchtime features fresh and tasty Italian sandwiches and salads. Weather permitting, outdoor seating is the better option. Indoor seating areas can become crowded and fairly noisy during lunch hour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing