We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable, nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Desert Arroyo and found it to be perfect to our needs, despite our hesitation because of previous reviews. The kitchen and restroom were fully stocked and clean. Our only issue we had were the stray hairs on the comforter... But even then that is minor. The apartment looks to have been recently remodeled, but the owners never replaced the carpet. So while it was clean the carpet in our room looked dirty. Overall, this was a very pleasant place to stay and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rchave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    16
    10
    17
See reviews for
40
29
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, ID
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Checked in last night late. Blood on pillow case, hair in bed,filthy carpets, used dental floss on kitchen floor, need I go on. Decided to check out a 830 am. Hotel would only refund two nights of a four night reservation. I didn't care left at found new resort to stay in. The only thing the resort has going for it is the proximity to the south mountain park.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandRTime99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

London, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family has stayed at Desert Arroyo three years in a row, always in Feb. or March. Unfortunately we have noticed a decline in service and the state of the property each time.

Pros - The only real pro is that hiking on South Mountain is right outside your door. Restaurants and shopping nearby. You really do need a car to get around though. The pool area is small but decent.

Cons - One big annoyance of this place is you can't get internet in your room. The signal isn't strong enough, so we were constantly having to go to the lobby or pool area to use the internet. If you had a room right next to the lobby you might be okay, but this has never been the case for us.

We have always stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, and they are just okay. The carpets should have been replaced about 20 years ago. Apparently some suites have renovated kitchens but in three years we have never managed to get one.

The maintenance and service have declined each year we have stayed here. This year we had no table and only 1 patio chair on our balcony, instead of the usual 4 chairs and table. We called to ask if we could get some, as we like sitting and eating outside. We were told "No, you can't." Seriously?? So no sitting outside for us.

On this recent visit, the kitchen barely had enough utensils and dishes to allow us to prepare a meal. I attempted to hang a towel on the rack in the bathroom and it fell right out of the wall. The dresser drawers in our room wouldn't stay closed as the dresser was broken. Not one single clothes hanger to be found in our closet..... etc. etc. The list just goes on.

In the last year they cut their cleaning service - you now have to take out your own garbage, wash your own towels etc. Annoying when you are on vacation.

Two years ago on my first visit I would have recommended this place. I no longer would. There are nicer places to stay, in better areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Location is convenient to airport, shopping, Cactus League parks AND South Mountain Preserve. Fantastic hiking right outside the door. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our unit was very nice and well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We are members of Raintree Resorts which owns this property. Our trip was primarily to attend the Rock, Gem and Mineral shows in Tucson (yes it's over 100 mile drive!), but we also wanted to see the Grand Canyon and enjoy the Phoenix area.

Our unit was in the bldg closest to check in, main level, no garage - but a dedicated parking space. The unit was spacious, spotless and well appointed with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. Our patio faced the pool area and every evening there were quail and rabbits that came to feed on the grass. The units are at the end of a business/light industrial area which really has no retail offerings so you will need a car. We loved the fact that there are hiking trails you can access from the property and take advantage of the great park/trail system (and we did some geocaches there too).

Lots of restaurants and shopping just a few minutes drive. No planned activities at this resort, but a nice pool/ hot tub area and the office area had computers to use.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank den&holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at this resort in early November, and we loved the spacious unit, closed in garage, and the set up was fabulous; gave us a true 'AZ desert' feeling! It was complete with a visit in our living room from a scorpion (there was an unusual drop in temp that made the wildlife a bit berserk those few days)! Management was prompt in every one of our calls, and the staff was so very helpful and responsive to our every need. i will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeriLovesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I hope Desert Arroyo gets it's own spot with a connection to the old one. It's under new management and is mostly renovated. Looks like this happened sometime in late 2010.

The rooms look like they have new carpets and some new furniture. We had a 1,100 square feet, 2 bedroom condo with 2 full baths, full kitchen, washer and dryer with a garage. $78 a night (have to work the web to find the best deal).

Very good value however, the place is in the middle of a commercial area so after business hours it's pretty deserted. You must have a car to drive to restaurants and a big mall although everything is within a 5-10 minute drive.

Front desk service is mediocre and the place is not a resort at all as it does not have many amenities. The pool area is well maintained and the check-in building is a bit small but well laid out. If you are checking in after 8 p.m. make sure you call well in advance to make arrangements to pick up the unit key.

The location of the property is conveniently close to Phoenix attractions. You are barely 5 minutes from the highway. A 20 minute drive will get you to Scottsdale Fashion Mall, the baseball stadium downtown or the airport.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#7 of 178 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Property: WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
Address: 4647 E Francisco Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5366 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is nearly impossible for anyone who is in any way sensitive to the beauty and grandeur of nature to stand in this special place and not feel the power that the Pimas refer to as the strong medicine of the South Mountain Preserve. Here, we have rediscovered a special place to share with our owners and guests. This is truly a place of deep relaxation and natural beauty. A place gently cradled in the largest regional wilderness park preserve in the country which covers over 50 square miles of pristine Sonoran desert. Surrounded by unspoiled panoramas and teeming with a stunning variety of wildlife that belongs to this desert community, it is seemingly a remote retreat, minutes from downtown Phoenix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Arroyo Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel South Mountain Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing