We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Treasured architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orpheum Theater

Orpheum Theater
203 W Adams St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1602 (Central City)
602 534 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$15*
and up
Phoenix Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #29 of 217 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Treasured architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Saw "Rock of Ages" here. It was my first time at this venue, since I live in Tucson. I loved the restored architecture of this theater. It transports you back to the 1920's. You can almost envision the ladies dressed up in their best " going to the Theater" clothes. Since this is such an old theater, you do have to give some allowance for space and seating. A bit small and tight, but that makes seeing a Broadway show here almost intimate.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    37
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Orpheum Theater Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Tours are offered and not to be missed. They very informative re planning, construction, and renovation. Having gone to school with daughters of one of the original creaters made it even more meaningful for me as well as havingseen my first stage play (Oklahoma) there. That was more than 50 years ago. I loved this beautiful theater then and still do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fiddler On the Roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wow. First time at the Orpheum theater. This place is a classic, ornate old school venue. Beautiful! dating from the turn of the century. The theater itself is a destination. And we loved Fiddler. Certainly know the story and music, but seeing it again after a long time renewed its timeless message. It was performed beautifully.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Prepare Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As you step into the Orpheum prepare yourself to step back in time to its 1929 grandeur and glory days. This beautiful and historic Phoenix theatre is unparallelled in beauty and style in the southwest and is strictly first class. Elegance abounds this Grande Dame and one can't help but cast their eyes at murals, ornate gold stage facade, elliptical red staircases and gold leaf columns. The ceiling is hand-painted depicting a sunset turning into a star-lit night sky. From the moment you admire the ornate exterior frieze, to the time you step into the Spanish Baroque style lobby and cross the mezzanine inspired by an Italian Davanzati Palace you'll be enchanted. We saw STOMP there on 1-30-13, which was an amazing performance. See our review of the performance on Tripadvisor.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JWArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent venue...seats are a little tight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This is an absolutely beautiful theater with great seats throughout and a fantastic sound system. We found the seats to be a little narrow, but comfortable nonetheless. For larger people, however, they are a little challenging.

Even the back row of the balcony provided a good view, plus the seats are a little less worn than those in the more used forward rows.

With it being around 1300 seats, you really can't go wrong with the cheaper balcony seats.

Helpful?
1 Thank AZ4JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orpheum Theater also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Orpheum Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing