We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Rosita's Place

Rosita's Place
Ranked #167 of 3,116 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Encanto
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Encanto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent authentic Mexican Food! Fresh hot chips and salsa made for a good starter. The chimichanga was full of chicken and cheese!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattpatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Rosita's is not a fancy suburban "Mexican Gourmet Upscale Dining Experience, filled up with columns and statues and wealthy Canadian retirees. This is the real thing. This week I took my wife and parents. It was loud with celebration and loud in paint and decor. It's located downtown at 24th Street and McDowell. There are security bars on the windows.

I had the house specialty, Liver Mexican Style, and it must be the best Mexican meal I have ever had. Tender calf liver smothered in onions, tomatoes and chilies, and served with a side of rice and tortillas. The problems we had with service in the past were noticeably gone.

Thank you for an excellent experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FedericoPinata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican, large plates”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I got a Mexican food recommendation from a fellow who was repairing our air conditioning system, and I was not disappointed. The family run restaurant had an appealing, though very traditional, menu. I tried the shrimp stuffed chiie relleno which was excellent. The batter was light, the poblano nicely cooked with just the right amount of cheese on top. The shrimp were tiny but flavorful. I'll try the chicken version next time as I'm a relleno fan. Three of us ate for $36, even with a house marguerita. I don't live in the area, but hope to visit Rosita's again when I'm going to a Diamondbacks game or attending a function downtown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved it! Very authentic”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had a great meal and totally enjoyed the atmosphere at this restaurant. It feels like a family joint. Staff was courteous. The portions are huge but I have to say, although I planned to bring home half my meal, I ended up eating it all--it was so yummy.

I had shrimp enchiladas with rice and beans. They make the beans without pork--a definite plus in my book!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose this place after reading the other reviews here. The references to the spotty neighborhood worried us a little, but it seemed very quiet on the Monday night we were there. The service, as other reviewers noted, was a bit slow, but we've experienced worse. The mole chicken was very good; the meat was beyond falling-off-the-bone tender. The mixed plate (beef preparations with green and red chile sauces) was excellent. BTW, they bring red and green salsas if you order chips; don't touch the red salsa until your drink arrives.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosita's Place also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rosita's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing