We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Very authentic”
Review of Rosita's Place

Rosita's Place
Ranked #185 of 3,086 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Encanto
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Encanto
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved it! Very authentic”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had a great meal and totally enjoyed the atmosphere at this restaurant. It feels like a family joint. Staff was courteous. The portions are huge but I have to say, although I planned to bring home half my meal, I ended up eating it all--it was so yummy.

I had shrimp enchiladas with rice and beans. They make the beans without pork--a definite plus in my book!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose this place after reading the other reviews here. The references to the spotty neighborhood worried us a little, but it seemed very quiet on the Monday night we were there. The service, as other reviewers noted, was a bit slow, but we've experienced worse. The mole chicken was very good; the meat was beyond falling-off-the-bone tender. The mixed plate (beef preparations with green and red chile sauces) was excellent. BTW, they bring red and green salsas if you order chips; don't touch the red salsa until your drink arrives.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Sonoran Food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Real food, prepared to order. Sauces are authentic, original, and wonderful. We returned for two consecutive nights. Would have kept going back to try other menu items, but had to return home. Looked far and wide for something this good, and was happy to find Rositas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NevadaBackroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were looking for an authentic Mexican place for dinner during our stay in Phoenix. The food was amazing. We both had the tamale's, along with chips & churro's with caramel sauce for dessert. Big portions, we definitely were not able to finish it all.

Prices are low. I think our dinner bill was under $20(before tip). We would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a barrio towards the airport.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I sometimes take out-of-town guests here when they land, or en route to the airport for chicken
enchilada mole, which is memorable. They always produce the real food with love and good
humor. The prices are quite reasonable and the local color is priceless. They have a parking attendant, so do not hesitate to stop for lunch. Handicap parking up front. I never have made a reservation, but I have never waited more than 10 minutes. Expect to see locals. This place has been voted best of Phoenix in the past.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savvygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosita's Place also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rosita's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing