We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change”

La Grande Orange Grocery
Ranked #47 of 3,105 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food is good. And, it's fun to browse around the gift shop. My main complaint is that it is NOT handicap friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    98
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

IF you ever wanted that perfect place to get coffee and a pastry, this is it. Some people travel for miles for their oatmeal - it is worth it. Some wait until they serve the pizza - also worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We'll take one of these in Dallas please!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped by this place on the advice of our hotel concierge (and Urban Spoon) for breakfast before heading out of town. I'm not sure exactly what I expected, but on all counts, this place exceeded those expectations. What a fun, quirky and chocked full of cool stuff this place is! It serves breakfast, has take-out and sushi and doubles as a pizzeria. There are several organic-friendly options.

It has a small but wide-ranging wine selection that is reasonably priced (bonus - you can buy a bottle there and drink it with your meal with no corkage fee). It has all kinds of funky gifts - candles, t-shirts, dishes - think Urban Outfitters or Anthropology gifts in a Cracker Barrel-style shop. I bought most of my dog-sitter gifts here (and a few items for myself).

The people who work there are knowledgeable about their merchandise, including the wine. The decor is hipster, and the music (which might be a little loud for some) is contemporary hipster.

If you are looking for a good meal and some fun distractions, definitely check this place out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DallasFoodFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Be sure and go early for breakfast or you will hit a long line on the weekends. We regularly go for breakfast and to pick up salads on the weekend for lunch. The pizza for dinner is good too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Covisioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice and Tasty breakfast”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We heard about this place from our friends, and decided to give it a try....Although prices are little high (cca.50 USD for two people), Breakfast is delicious...the vibe of the place is good...One thing which I did not like was that it is a self service.....However, if you want to have a good breakfast and dont care about how much u will spend on it, this is a place...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxximus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Orange Grocery also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Grande Orange Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing