We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the search”
Review of Dick's Hideaway

Dick's Hideaway
Ranked #52 of 3,101 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camelback East
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dicks is hidden in plain sight in an older strip mall next to a hardware store. I drove by it twice before I found it. It is worth the search. It has outstanding Southwestern cuisine that is very original in its flavor. One of a kind feel to it. Seems to be mostly locals, but the service was pleasant and timely.
The Bar has a better than average selection of Beer and Wine, but the food is what sells the place. It is small and has a smoky pecan wood grill aroma. As soon as you walk in you are enveloped in the atmosphere. Love this place and will go again when I am in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank specho65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    44
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Sign on Building and doesn't need one”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hard to find if you're not local as there is no sign on building, they don't need it. Tiny little place with great New Mexican cusine. Same owner as Rockery & Richardson's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank grt_8woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfast”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Yo have to stop at Dick's for one of the best breakfasts you've ever had. The Cowboy Platter is too much so plan on sharing but the flavors of the cowboy beans, southwest potatoes and local sausages will make your mouthwater just thinking about it. This is first come, first served kind of place but don't forget the back door wherethey have additional seating and a private dining room. This is one of Phoenix's true gems.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NicknAZ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It might be a hideaway,but it's certainly worth finding.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Not a place you're going to stumble upon, that is unless you literally stumble though the front door. We had a recommendation and directions and still had a tough time finding this place. In fact at one point we were sitting in the car calling the restaurant for better directions - and it turned out we were parked in front of the restaurant. It's litterally a door with a tiny name printed on it. No big sign. But once we did find it, it was worth it.. The main room is nothing more than a bar and a couple tables. And behind the bar is a huge open pit flame/grill thing that heated the room another 20 degrees. Now as cool as that room was, we got to sit in the cooler room, the only other room. This secondary room has a couple smaller tables and one huge table that sat 12. It was on a raised platform and surrounded by wine. I can't exaggerate enough how cool this room was.

Now that I've gushed about the ambience, let's talk food. Well let's just say it doesn't disappoint. Modern southwestern Mexican food at its best.

If you ever find yourself in Phoenix search out Dick's Hideaway, it will be worth the trek.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SirDekkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small place, serious menu including happy hour, dinner”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stopped in for breakfast on a Sunday. The food and service were very good. The place was filling up at 8 am, a testament to its popularity. The menu was very ambitious for a small place, but the execution was good enough that I plan to return. Mark's Cafe remains the top breakfast place for me, but Dick's Hideaway made my top 10. Contrary to the listing at the time of this post, Dick's Hideaway (bar area)/Richardson's (dining room) has a dinner menu. Also, it looks like the afternoon happy hour is worth exploring. It will take more visits to evaluate this place, but it made a very good first impression. It's located in a little strip of shops on the NW corner of 16th and Bethany Home just west of the 51 freeway. Comments the neighborhood is dodgy are wrong, unjust. Lulu's is the corner store. Dick's is on the 16th Street side of the strip. The door is framed by a huge hedge or wall of vines, and the only sign says "additional parking in rear."

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CombsB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Hideaway also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Dick's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing