We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Da Vang Phoenix”
Review of Da Vang

Da Vang
Ranked #222 of 3,103 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Da Vang Phoenix”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Local neighborhood spot.... a hole in the wall.... good food, good price..... not very clean or friendly.... but decent....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ganda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kingman, az
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food ok service worse”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We were there on a Friday night. We were seated promptly. Then it went down hill from there. We ordered 2 appetizers, fresh spring rolls & crepe. It tasted ok plenty of veggies came with it. Hubby asked for more more hot pepper since our container on the table was very low & was met with a stare. We waited awhile no pepper came we have to flag down another server. Then we have to flag down another server for another set of silverware. I ordered Pho with meatballs & were told they don't have meatballs. At 5:30pm on a Friday night? I switched & ordered noodle salad bowl instead. I have eaten better elsewhere. Hubby ordered lemongrass beef on rice & asked for extra spicy & it came to the table with hardly any spiciness in it at all. My hot tea was lukewarm. I had high hope by all the reviews & was thoroughly disappointed. After dinner another long wait before we got our bill.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mooyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,293 reviews
708 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Awesome pho and bahn mi lunch”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The neighborhood is a little iffy and it is located in a strip mall, but DO NOT skip this place. Fantastic Vietnamese food. It says a lot that this place was packed with Asian locals at 3pm on a Sunday. That's just a testament to the authenticity and popularity. My bill for a big bowl of beef pho and a bahn mi to go was under $10. Very nice servers. Kids more than welcome. I will definitely eat here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Pho & Banh Mi”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First of all, for the record, I'm not Vietnamese, nor have I ever set foot in Vietnam.

I'm white, but I did spend 15 years of my adult life living in the N. Virginia suburbs of DC and know good Pho and banh mi when I have it.

I took my girlfriend to Da Vang today for lunch and we both had a bowl of Pho (#4) and each had a banh mi (I like pate on mine, she does not).

Da Vang is among the very best (if not the best) Pho and Banh Mi I've ever had, anywhere. Unfortunately we've only been here 3 times and each time was for lunch, specifically because we had a hankering for Pho and/or banh mi, so we haven't tried any of the other items on the menu and we haven't had dinner here.

I will say that the place is a total dive, but we live up in Anthem and make the trip (it's about 30 mins on a Sat/Sun) down the I-17 and it's so worth it. It's always at least 75% Vietnamese customers, and none of them are swearing in native tongue, so I'm guessing it's pretty good by their standards too.

We have been to two other Vietnamese dives in Phx (one was in N. Scottsdale) for Pho's and neither one could hold a candle to Da Vang. If you want some good Vietnamese, do yourself a favor and head here for lunch--you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pho Amazingness”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Growing Up on Da Vang has been both good and bad. Good - They have the BEST Pho and Vietnamese Food of anywhere I have been (including Los Angeles, Florida, Seattle, etc.) Bad - I live in Florida now and can't find anything that comes even remotely close. The Vietnamese spring rolls are to die for and so is the iced coffee with condensed milk. This is a MUST if you love Pho and you are in the Phoenix Area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Vang also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Da Vang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing