We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knock Kneed Lobster

Knock Kneed Lobster
Ranked #433 of 2,912 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central City
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a very non descript restaurant with no atmosphere in a run down neighborhood but the food is to die for. We stop here whenever we are near the airport and are never disappointed. We have been coming here for years. My hubby likes the fried shrimp and the cocktail sauce, but I like the fish and fries. Sooooo good. The coleslaw is great!! not just some cabbage, it actually has a sauce on it. The 2-piece fish and chips is a lot of food. It is a walkup window and wait to be called to pick up your order kind of place. But it could be worth your drive. The group across from us said they had been coming there for 20 years. Not that says a lot. Give it a try.
The prices are average--2 piece fish and chips $7.25 with cole slaw and extra $1.95(worth it though)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood in unexpected location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You'd never think that in an ugly area by the airport there's such good food. But there is. Fish and chips are awesome so are a few other choices as the rice & trout and fish sandwish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank arbonfieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“RECOMMENDED TO ME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A friend of mine told me about this restaurant but warned me that it was a hole in the wall. This place has been there forever and not remodeled or sprussed up.
To my surprise, the prices were reasonable and the food was good. I ordered the 1 Fish 'n' 2 shimp 'n' chips and it was served warm and crispy.
If I ever find myself in this downtowm area, I will certainly eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TropicalMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chautauqua, Ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient fish shack near the airport and rapid rail.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This little seafood restaurant, aka "Shrimp and Fish Shack", is owned by the Sullivan Family. It doesn't look like much, nor does the neighborhood, but it is better than it looks. The one story building was originally a top nightclub near the airport; it doesn't appear to have been renovated, just altered to accommodate a different business. The clientele is varied, from local workmen to retired couples to mothers with their daughters to travelers. Nothing fancy here, but the food is really good. Large slabs of hand-cut Alaska Cod with a mound of french fries are a popular selection, but other options are plentiful. Place your order at the counter when you enter, have a seat, and wait about ten minutes for your HOT meal to be ready. Outside parking is more than adequate, and the area feels safe during daylight hours. Enjoy while you wait for your arrivals at the airport!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luv the fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The fish and chips is a great meal. The two piece will fill you up. The clam strips were done just right. Just a good overall to go to. Don't let the area scare you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knock Kneed Lobster also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Knock Kneed Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing