We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pheonix Vegans - Wonderful Food at the Persian Cafe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Persian Garden Cafe

Persian Garden Cafe
Ranked #562 of 3,037 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $15 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Encanto
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Pheonix Vegans - Wonderful Food at the Persian Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Went there for the first time tonight. They had many items on the menu that are vegan and when the entrees arrived, they were fresh, delicious and the presentation wonderful. I recommend this restaurant for Phoenix Vegas. Check out their menu on their website. I really enjoyed it. Had Baba Ganusj and hummus with raw vegetable for an appetizer(pictured above). They had a special for dinner: A baked acorn squash filled with roasted vegetables, with basmati rice, a lentil and raisin rice and a bowl of lentil soup along with some naan bread. It was so delicious. Nice meal, Great atmosphere! The server could not have been friendlier or more helpful. It was just a great vegan experience all around!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Persian, great vegetarian selections”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

this was clearly the best Persian place I have ever been to. The Chef/owner is truly gifted. He goes to Iran to bring back his own spices and herbs! His vegetarian creations are inspired, the décor is cozy and warm. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
804 reviews
468 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,020 helpful votes
“What wonderful Mediterranean food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The fact that this location used to be Mary Coyles for so many years made me too sad to go in it for years. Well, some friends finally suggested we go for dinner and boy was I happy. One friend had the special which was a dish I cannot name but it was a big shank and was wonderful. Another friend had a greek salad that was fresh, full of variety and great tasting. I had a shrimp angel hair pasta that was very very good.

The server was very knowledgable and a friendly person.

The prices were a bit high but overall it was a good experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

The food here is amazing! And it's good for you too: wholesome organic ingredients and a much more than ample selection of vegetarian dishes. (I took a vegetarian friend here once, and he was overwhelmed by the amount of choices.) This is easily our favorite place for falafel, and the spanakopita and spud burger are my wife's perennial favorites. How good is their food? Well, I hate salad as a rule. From plain house salads to massive meal-in-themselves salads that contain everything but the kitchen sink--can't stand 'em. But I LOVE the mediterranean salad at Persian Garden; in fact, it's become one of my staple orders there. That's how good their food is.

Oh, and the middle eastern decor is lovely too, and the owner is one of the most gracious and personable hosts you'll ever meet. The drink selection is a bit limited, but it doesn't really matter when they serve such delicious food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peripatetic-perhaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is by far my favorite place to be. It is across from Phoenix College, in the middle of a busy intersection, but when you walk in, it's like walking into a different world!!! The owner is so friendly and will recommend a variety of possibilities from his organic menu. I am always pleased. I have gone with friends and with family and every time someone comes into town, this is where they want to go!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeilaR810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persian Garden Cafe also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Persian Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing