We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, and something different”

Eliana's Restaurant
Ranked #750 of 3,080 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Salvadoran, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Encanto
florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good, and something different”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ate here for lunch on a Saturday in July. Went with mom, sis, her partner.

When we entered, there were patrons at 2 other tables. I'm guessing they do a brisker business during the work week, at least for lunch. The place was very clean and well arranged. Nice El Salvadoran pictures on the walls, as well as "stuff" from that country.

I had the Chile Relleno. Most places use poblano peppers for this, which I don't really care for. However, they use a bell pepper. The filling was delicious, a mix of veggies and meat. The refried beans were a liquefied form; not just pureed, but really liquid - like a soup. But they were perfect for either dipping a fork-full of rice into, or dipping the thick little tortillas in. The rice also good on it's own.

Mom had a chicken breast on sour cream sauce. I've forgotten what sis & her partner had, but both enjoyed it. I drank Orchata, mom had water, and the sis pair had a fruit drink they liked a lot.

Overall, for all 4 of us, I think it came out to about $45, including tip. Not bad at all. Definitely worth a return trip - or two!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmohank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
422 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Super affordable”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Honestly is one of the few places where I had ate for a super cheap price. The yucca sancochada was only $5.The combo was only $6 dollars that include 1 pupusa, 1 tamal and 1 pastel de carne with rice and beans.The " ensalada " is a drink made with fruits and their "orchata" is totally different is what in mexican cuisine they would call "cebada". Even though the variety was limited I would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jptravelswithfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
508 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

If you have never eaten in Elsavador the closest place you will find in Phoenix is Elianas. I can't explain how good the food is and clean everything was. I have traveled to Elsavador several times and everything I had here is exactly like being there. This place makes me want to move to Phoenix.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kidflemingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty El Savadorian food”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

There were four of us and we each ordered different food and share, and all dishes were authentic and delicious! It was inexpensive and if ever we were in Phoenix again, we definitely will come back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natlehtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Authentic food in a friendly casual restaurant that has been around for over 20 years.”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This restaurant has been around for over 20 years. It is a nice casual place with an authentic menu. The list of choices on the menu is somewhat limited, but most diners should find something they like. The prices are reasonable. It is not in a picturesque part of town, but if you are nearby it is worth stopping in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drwokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eliana's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eliana's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing