We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again, this place is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 3,061 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Again, this place is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food, service, drinks, atmosphere are all excellent. This place is a regular stop when in Phoenix. This time we sat in the Goldwater booth for my parent's anniversary. Yes, I got to join them to celebrate. The service is always perfect. If you have never eaten here, do so. It is a bit pricey so be prepared but it is well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    58
    28
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed with CG”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had Dinner for 4 on fathers day, the service, the atmosphere and without a doubt the food was excellent. great wine selection, outstanding steaks made to perfection. The only disappointment was desert the cake my daughter had was dry and appeared to be a bit old, and the creme b was just mediocre . But it was an enjoyable meal over all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I ate there this past April as it was our last night in Phoenix and as usual The Capital Grille never fails to deliver a wonderful, consistent meal with great service. I had a special that evening of filet mignon and Alaska king crab legs and my husband had his favorite the porterhouse. Of course, we have to have the creamed spinach! Just delicious and a great wine to boot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In the running for best steakhouse in metro Phoenix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Did a “classic" salad, steak, potato meal. And it was as good as it gets. Salads were cold, crisp and perfectly dressed. We both had the filet, served a precisely proper medium-rare. The cut was flawless and tender; the flavor outstanding. My companion and I both agreed that this was probably the best steak we’ve had in the Phoenix area, easily giving Durant’s, Donovan’s, Shula’s, etc. a run for the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe85207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level Contributor
675 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We keep coming back to the Capital Grille for the steaks and the service. While there are other local "high end" steakhouses in the area, we have never quite been satisfied with the level of quality that the competitors have provided. We had our usual filets. Services was excellent, so five dots. The only thing out of the ordinary was that the manager didn't stop by our table to see how things were going. Over all, five dots.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing