We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistenly OK”

Stockyards Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Stockyards Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 3,086 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 48th St
Transit: The closest light rail stop is at 44th St and Washington, and is 7/10ths of a mile from the restaurant.
Description: In 1947, The Stockyards, Arizona's Original Steakhouse opened its doors for the first time with a menu focused solely on its historical past; beef. Staying true to its heritage, the menu continues to feature only the finest corn-fed, aged steaks.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistenly OK”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have eaten at the Stockyards the past three visits in AZ. Everytime the food is average at best. The bernaise is not fresh, the soup is mediocre and steak has to be choice and not prime. If you go, you must check out their bar as it is the coolest feature in the place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dddh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    126
    45
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beef is the game”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Not bad. Not as good as I remember from seeral years ago, but it was worth a try aain on a recent trip. Prime rib was ordered med rare and it came out more towards med. The server apologized and was ready to replace it but I was not ready to hold up the dinner party and consumed it as is. It was still very good. I think this place has fluctuated over the years as many established restaurants tend to do. I would go back again without hesitation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WORK4WINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading the excellent reviews we had dinner here on our overnight stay in Phoenix. Maybe we just had an off night - the food was average and our waitress, while attentive was not overly friendly. Seeing this restaurant is not too far from the airport it must get tourists, business people, etc. so a little more friendliness would have been nice, especially having two kids with us. The hostess was as kind and pleasant on our way in as on our way out. Would I recommend this restaurant anyway? Yes, but would not go back if in Phoenix again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salisa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Frequent patron and the food is always above par. Just dont expect to get away cheaply. Worth it for that special occasion or entertaining business colleagues.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basil41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUS
Level Contributor
163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food and history”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

An old restaurant located in area that was the largest stockyard at the turn of the century. I've only eaten beef there, but they do have varied menu and nice wine list. Food and service is very good, and complimented by the southwest surroundings.The restaurant is located in the airport area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockyards Restaurant also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Stockyards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing