We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Nogales Hot Dogs

Nogales Hot Dogs
Ranked #977 of 3,601 Restaurants in Phoenix
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Nogales Hot Dogs is a food truck serving delicious Sonoran hot dogs. This was the first time I had Sonoran hot dogs having heard so much about it and I am glad I ordered 2. The Sonoran hot dogs served here consist of a hot dog wiener wrapped in beacon and grilled to perfection then served on a bun topped with onions, tomatoes and pinto beans. They also have a variety of condiments and sides like cheese, and mushroom etc but my favorite was the delicious jalapeño salsa which really accentuates the Sonoran hot dogs.

This place is easy to miss as it’s a small truck and 2 small white tents at a street corner Indian School and 20th St. Also they open in the evening at 7 pm. The 2 ladies running the truck were very friendly and worked efficiently. There were a few tables with chairs set up but they fill up quickly. Lots of folks would just buy to go or eat in their cars if there are no seats available. Definitely a best kept secret in Phoenix. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank iluv2eatntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2016

Hot dogs are great - make sure to try it with all the toppings, even though it may not look pleasing to some people! Ladies are always nice. Outside and they show up around 7.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashley80550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Driving back to our room and trying to find a place to eat and we came across this place. Service was great and the food was amazing. Never had a Senoran Hotdog before and Im glad we decided to take a chance and love it. A must when youre in the valley

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rojasverlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

In Nogales we trust. I would NEVER have put mayo and beans on a hot dog, but it was delicious!!! This place was a cart in a parking lot, but we drove 45 minutes to get there. Even all the little ones with us had a good time. The only let down was no diet beverage options we're available. We will be back again.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

First off, Nogales Hot Dogs isn't really a restaurant, just a food truck and tent with tables. They set up every night around dusk and pack up at 2am. The menu consists of Sonoran-style hot dogs, chips and bottled Mexican soft drinks. Although one can find Sonora dogs all over the valley, Nogales Hot Dogs enjoys a deserved reputation as one of the standouts.

If you've never experienced a Sonoran hot dog, let me explain... Like its northern cousin from Chicago, the Sonoran version is a localized embellishment of the lowly ballpark weenie on a bun. This uniquely borderland presentation consists of a bacon-wrapped hot dog, a smear of mayo, some pinto beans, diced tomato & onion, and a sprinkling of cotija cheese. (Cotija is a crumbly salty somewhat pungent skim milk cheese, sort of a Mexican grated Parmesan) Each dog is assembled upon order so you may omit any item as desired. If you really want to load up your hot dog, there's also a condiment bar with chiles, mushrooms, several salsas, cilantro, and more cheese. Personally I'm partial to the mushrooms and salsa verde... Sodas are of the bottled Mexican variety (including Coca Cola products) which, as they originate from Mexico, are all made with cane sugar rather than high fructose corn syrup as are American sodas. Soda aficionados are apparently picky about such things and insist on the superiority of the "real sugar" versions. Patrons are welcome to dine "al fresco" at the tables (trust me, it only SOUNDS fancy) or take their order to go. Service is efficient but friendly, and they accept both cash and all major cards.

If you overspent at the bar but need to satisfy those late-night munchies, or you can't stand the thought of another visit to Denny's, or you just want to try a tasty twist on the humble hot dog, give this place a try.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank rickr323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nogales Hot Dogs also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nogales Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing