We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find something for anytime of the day”
Review of Hillside Spot

Hillside Spot
Ranked #347 of 3,101 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Find something for anytime of the day”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I love this place for any meal of the day, whether it be breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There's always something on the menu that I can find enjoyable. I love the fact that you can get breakfast all day and their Cocina 55 menu after 4pm is excellent! The restaurant is a little small and we don't care much for their chairs, but if you're in the area and looking for something to eat, this is the place! They have tons of local beers on tap that you can choose from and you have to try their homemade chips, they're the bomb!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What happened here in the past few years?”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a nice place with some unique items in the past. Had breakfast there today. Too many flies inside to eat comfortably, went outside which was a little better though almost 100 after 9am.
Ordered the El Jeffe Omelette and a side of hash browns. Both items were so greasy I knew I would pay for it in a few hours (I did). The hash browns were overcooked to the point of being solid crunchy (and greasy). Seat cushions dirty as if not washed for quite some time, and I looked at multiple tables too since they were all empty at the time. On the plus side, staff was friendly as always and the iced tea delicious.
I'm afraid that I will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. Hipster like atmosphere. Very friendly service. To go orders. Great michelada's!! They have outdoors seating and would be great I. Cooler temps since they have glass "garage" doors that open up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant, excellent food.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I go to Hillside Spot regularly for breakfast or lunch as it has delicious fresh food. Youthful wait staff is friendly and solicitous, always nearby and available to refill a drink or get you what you need without hovering. They offer fresh homemade pies and other pastries that are incredibly yummy. The burgers are great as is the grilled chicken sandwich. In fact, I can't think of anything on the menu that isn't well-prepared and delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpringerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tastes and looks so good, quality superb!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

That the restaurant uses local grown produce only adds to my unsolicited vote as Ahwatukee's (community of Phoenix) best American food (wit ha twist) restaurant. After nothing but ok chain restaurants everywhere this was like finding a gem, especially after leaving the many original and outstanding restaurants of the SF Bay Area behind to relocate to Phoenix. I'd rate it excellent if it weren't for the noise eating indoors, but I could linger outdoors under the summer misters forever. Favorite of mine: Suki rice bowl,spicy sashimi style tuna with a Japanese-themed salad better than any typical bento box at Japanese restaurant, because vegetables in the rice bowl itself, along with the salad appeal to me a lot. My meals at home are similar with less meat and starch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillside Spot also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hillside Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing