We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing Gluten-Free Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Postino Winebar

Postino Winebar
Ranked #14 of 2,915 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
216 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing Gluten-Free Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Shared a dinner last night with friends at this amazing restaurant. Parking is limited but they offer free valet, for a $3 tip on the way out, which was quick and efficient. We came for dinner on a Tuesday night and the place was packed with customers the entire time. Very loud - if you want a quiet dining atmosphere then this is not the best choice but if you want a "hip" place for the 30-something crowd look no further. We shared a meat and cheese block, two salads and two orders of bruschetta, and all of it was amazing. The only reason I gave a four-star rating is because my side of gluten-free bread for the block came out room temperature and was almost inedible. It should have been toasted or quick grilled before serving. However, the bruschetta that I ordered made on gluten-free bread was delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciaPhxtoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    96
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere, Staff, Wine and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wine is $5.00 by the glass everyday before 5:00pm! We dropped in Sunday afternoon to listen to a little acoustic music, have a couple glasses of wine and enjoy their delicious bruschetta $14 for a portion large enough to feed two and you get four choices. Fantastic time. Wish we had been in town long enough to go back because we would have! If you're not a wine drinker they have beer. Go! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnySkiesDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun venue with great bruschetta and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful wine bar with great bruschetta. Favorite day to go is Sunday afternoon when they have great live music and all glasses of wine are $5. They also have a great brunch menu in Sunday. The only challenge can be the limited parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Postino is a great spot to enjoy and savor. The service is warm and prompt . . . the food and wine are lovely and the food is fresh, tasty and beautifully presented.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't beat the Monday/Tuesday special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We L-O-V-E to go here on a Monday or Tuesday night. Starting at 8pm, they have their bruschetta tray (4 pieces) and bottle of wine for $20 special. If you look up the word, "Umami", you should see "Postino's Bruschetta". It is so decadent tasting. We usually get the $20 special and then finish it off with the Salted Caramel sundae, which is also so decadent tasting. We keep hearing that Federal Pizza, which is by the same company is good and is only two buildings away, but we can't bring ourselves to try it because we enjoy Postino's so much. There is always about a one hour wait, but don't freak out when you see people standing outside. That hour is spent sitting, drinking the wine and talking. It is a great night out. Not just an eat and go event.

Service: Always great. The staff is friendly from the Valet to the server to the person that fills your water glass.

Food: I can't say enough good things about their Bruschetta and Salted Caramel sundae. Those are so good, that we have never tried anything else.

Value: The Monday and Tuesday after 8PM $20 Wine and tray of bruschetta is a must. My wife and I are modest eaters and a single tray, half bottle of win (they will re-cork or re-screw top your bottle to take home), and a single sundae are more than enough to fill us up.

Atmosphere: This place is very "hip". Mostly a "younger" crowd (20's and 30's), but being in my 40's we fit in just fine along with a small number of people older than us.

Romance: This place is pretty nice "hip" looking place. Pretty noisy, but fits the atmosphere and actually makes it so you can talk to your date and not be overheard.

Special Occasions: Similar to the Romance and Atmosphere descriptions, I like this place and would go her any time with my wife on a date. I have not been here with a big group.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postino Winebar also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Postino Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing