We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Traditional Italian Food & Service”

Christo's ristorante
Ranked #56 of 3,085 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Iowa
Level Contributor
368 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“Authentic Traditional Italian Food & Service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A cousin has lived in the in the Phoenix/Scottsdale/Mesa areas for decades. When I told him I liked Ossobucco he said we're going to Christos. You could tell it was an older, well-established Italian restaurant with the traditional white table cloths and well-dressed waitstaff. Our server was attentive and professional. He took our drink order, came back for our appetizer order, then bread, soup, salad, entrees. All the meal courses arrived in a timely manner.

I was glad to see the house redwine list included a chianti (nothing worse than going to a supposedly authentic Italian restaurant and not find any chianti available by the glass). They serve bread, soup and salad with their entrees. Besides the house special Ossobucco, we ordered the chicken Genovese and Chilean sea bass. All of us really enjoy our selections. Their linguine was perfectly cooked, tender yet al dente.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    45
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Starbuck, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Love real Italian food, and this was excellent.

4 courses: Spinach Soup, Caprese Salad, Chicken Saltimbuca, Tiramisu. Another in our group had a perfectly prepared halibut with a light caper sauce, that was also just right - not at all overcooked!

White tablecloths, excellent service, sparkling clean restroom.

If we lived in Phoenix, this would be a regular stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCWSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tried and True”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Christo's has been around seemingly forever (more a reflection on the nature of Phoenix eateries than anything else) and has a devoted following that leans toward the mature crowd -- a group that knows value when they see it. The restaurant has succeeded in a difficult market in a somewhat inauspicious location simply because it delivers fine food at reasonable prices in a friendly and companionable but upscale atmosphere. The fare has been described as Italian, but I tend to think of it more as Southern European: the namesake chef and owner is Greek and the dishes combine the best elements of Mediterranean food. Portions are generous, drinks and wines are all you could ask for, and deserts are splendid.

The restaurant is family-owned, and if you happen to be stranded in mid-town Phoenix without the wheels to motor to Christo's, you should check out its sister restaurant Alexi's. located a mile west and a few miles south on Central Avenue -- also a sure-fire crown pleaser.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMSlaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Italian dining at home cooking prices”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A very nice restaurant with cloth tablecloths and napkins. The menu is not extensive -- basically each of several Italian variations on seafood, chicken, veal, and beef with some pasta choices, but the night we were there four or five specials were available. I wanted to eat light so ordered the house pasta which was a bit heavier than i'd hoped, but tasted great. Wife got the halibut with feta special which was outstanding. Considering all meals come with soup and a salad the prices are very reasonable. We were even give a complimentary Sambuca at the end of the meal. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank likestodineky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better Than Most”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the first time at Christo's which is one of the better Italian restaurants in the area. I could have stoppped with the soup and salad which comes with each dinner. The Veal was a good sized portion and cooked right. The prices are very reasonable for the food you order. Will go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toyman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christo's ristorante also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Christo's ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing