We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of time and money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macayo Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Macayo Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located at W Thunderbird and 19th Ave, we're one of many Macayo's family owned and locally operated restaurants. Happy Hour: 3:30-6:30pm Mon-Fri with $3 off appetizers and $3 drink specials! Bar and patio only. Hours:Mon-Sun 11 am - 10 pm
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location was good and set up was nice, but food is boring, bland, and not worth it... Slow service, tex-mex food was some of the worse I've had in years and it was overpriced. We won't waste our time or money there again. And anyone who likes it, has never had "real" mexican food.
Please don't waste your time eating there...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CancunVIP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macayo M, Public Relations Manager at Macayo Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am sorry to hear that our food did not meet your expectations. We make all of our food fresh daily from long standing and authentic Mexican recipes. We would love to invite you back. Please email us directly at onlinemarketing@macayo.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whiteriver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The service was very bad. We were seated pretty quick but it took a long time before someone came and took our order. The buser took the drink order but the waiter did not come for at least 20 mins. I had to flag someone down and by that time my family was ready to leave. The food was okay but it took a long time for it to come as well. There was two parties going on in the same room but they were to focused on their needs and not ours. The servers were not very friendly. I did not like this place. I will not be going there anytime soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macayo M, Guest Relations Manager at Macayo Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi April,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service and are always looking for ways to improve. We do appreciate you writing in and letting us know about your experience. I will pass this message along to our General Manager and make sure these issues are addressed right away.

We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you’d like to contact us directly, please e-mail us at wecare@macayo.com.

We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have always loved this restaurant. Anytime we are in the area we eat here. The food and margaritas are the best, hands down beating any restaurant we have tried! The pork enchiladas with tomatilla sauce are a bite of heaven! We have never had a less than wonderful meal here and will continue to eat here each time we return to the area. We have eaten at all the other locations also, all or reliable, consistant in quality and value. 5 stars for this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 57travelwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went to Macayo's for lunch. They have a wide selection of lunch items at good prices. More importantly, it is quality food, not cheap stuff. We'll be going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0ut4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Suddenly Spicy... Changes in Menu & Spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Macayo's has always been a reliable and tasty local place for lunch or dinner. We've brought out of town guests to this location for 11 yr and ate there often ourselves. But my visit last week was surprising, they've increased the spiciness of the food and lost their traditional taste! I mentioned to our waiter the new very spicy rice wasn't to my liking and I received no response. It would be great if they could offer "traditional Macayo's flavor/spiciness level" AND "our new spicier version" for the dishes and sides that have changed. And wait staff should be asking "have you been here before?" and if so warn of the patrons of the changes in flavor/spice. This is a frequent lunch spot for my friends to gather, but the spicy changes may mean we find something more neutral or flexible in spicy ("hot") flexibility!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macayo Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing