We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great appetizers”

Phoenix City Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Phoenix City Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,061 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: Phoenix City Grille is a central Phoenix institution, having opened in 1997. Nestled in the heart of the Madison neighborhood at 16th street and Bethany Home Road, Phoenix City Grille was built in the style of the old town tavern. It's a comfortable place for meeting friends where you can count on delicious food at reasonable prices. Whether gathering with friends for happy happy hour, meeting clients for a business lunch, treating your special someone to a romantic dinner, or entertaining larger groups in our private dining room,Phoenix City Grille is a great destination. Find out why people from all over the valley visit this cozy neighborhood tavern. Join us today at Phoenix City Grille. If you are interested in booking parties larger than 20 people, please call us directly.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Decided to go to the Uptown area and hit a few places. This was our first stop and I must say the appetizers they had were outstanding. Nice atmosphere and the place got really crowded fast. Our only complaint is that it seems your server is also the bartender and it took longer than usual to pay the tab as he was taking order, mixing up drinks and processing payments.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsWeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Laura,
Thanks for stopping in and having some drinks and some apps. We're glad that you enjoyed you visit and the atmosphere. We apologize for the bartender taking a little longer than it should have...Sometimes it gets hectic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    71
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great Meal - lots of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our first time at Phoenix City Grille. The only reason for the 4 star instead of 5 star rating was our server. She was absolutely lack luster and not friendly. I wanted to ask her more questions about entree choices but quickly realized she would be of no help and we were on our own making our dinner selections. Thankfully the food was so good and everyone was pleased with their meal. We started with an appetizer of green chile quesco fundido which everyone enjoyed. Our entrees choices included the Ono special, short ribs, eggplant sandwich, and chipotle BBQ burger. Everyone's food was well prepared and flavorful. The sides with the Ono were especially tasty- farro and creamed corn. The atmosphere is casual but classy and their was quite a crowd on a Saturday night. I look forward to returning to this restaurant with a more enthusiastic server.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for stopping in and giving Phoenix City Grille a try. We're always excited when new guests join us and find out what they have been missing :-)

We were disappointed to hear that your server was not up to your standards and by the sound of it, was not up to our standards either. We apologize for the less than A+ service.
We work with our servers everyday and let them know what is expected.

On the upside, we are thrilled that you enjoyed you meal and were comfortable in our cozy atmosphere.

Next time you are in, please ask for Sheldon and he will make sure everything is A+ for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just The Right Fit, and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family was hosting an early dinner for a fairly large group of people (+20), following a memorial service for my father who passed away in July. We were looking for a medium-price restaurant that could accommodate our party, preferably in a private room - and the Phoenix City Grille met our requirements.

We arrived just before 4PM, and were ushered into a very spacious private room, just off the bar. The restaurant itself is much like I remember it, when it was an Italian restaurant in a prior reincarnation. The dining area is located to the right, just inside the entrance, and the very attractive bar area is located just to the left of the entrance. We didn't see the dining area, but the interior appears very clean and with a somewhat subdued lighting theme.

The table in our private room was spacious, with seating and place settings for approximately 23 diners. Although we were assigned only a single server for our entire party, drink orders were taken and filled promptly.

The menu is a mix of moderately priced small plate, salad, and sandwich selections. Entrees include a mix of chops, steaks, chicken, pasta and fish. I chose the half rack of smoked baby back ribs, although I nearly went with the Rose Lane Chicken (since I used to live on Rose Lane). All the entrees arrived in a reasonable period of time, and the plating presentations I observed all looked neat and appetizing. My ribs, which came with french fries and cole slaw, were remarkably good, with just the right amount of not-too-sweet sauce, and meat that was tender and falling off the bone. The fries were good, but nothing remarkable, and the cole slaw was the surprise winner, with a just-right balance of seasoning and cole slaw sauce (I nearly cried when my brother sitting next to me didn't eat his cole slaw . . . or offer it to me).

Overall, the experience at the Phoenix City Grille was entirely positive, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
CDobyns,

First of all, please accept our condolences for the loss of your father.

Thanks you for the kind words about Phoenix City Grille. We’re sorry that you couldn’t enjoy our restaurant under more pleasant circumstances.

We appreciate you and your family choosing us for such an important family event. We appreciate your kind words about our private dining area. We work very hard to make those rooms a great place for people to hold their events.

Glad you enjoyed your meal and your atmosphere.

Hopefully you have a chance to dine with us again in our dining room when you are in town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“ONCE A WATERSHED FOR GREAT FOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

There was a time when this Restaurant was one of the best new food establishments in Phoenix, no longer. It has not aged well. The Server was charming, and the setting is still inviting. The Wine list very complete. Now the glaring negatives; the salad had poor quality lettuce, and bland , uninspired dressing. My Wife ordered what was one of their" signature dishes", the chicken, it tasted strange and very unappealing. I opted for the large shrimp covered with bacon, a small dish , it was passable.
It is sad that the best part of dinner was my glass of wine.
We learned from the Server the owner was trying to freshen up the menu, good thought , but in the mean time, keep up the quality on the served menu items. I hope the Restaurant returns to it's former glory.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a dozen times. They get it right every time. Food is fresh. Service is quick. One of my favorite business lunches in Phoenix.

Helpful?
Thank AzTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Well thank you for such a wonderful review. We work hard to do what you said...get it right every time.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix City Grille also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing