We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Phoenix City Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Phoenix City Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 3,086 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: Phoenix City Grille is a central Phoenix institution, having opened in 1997. Nestled in the heart of the Madison neighborhood at 16th street and Bethany Home Road, Phoenix City Grille was built in the style of the old town tavern. It's a comfortable place for meeting friends where you can count on delicious food at reasonable prices. Whether gathering with friends for happy happy hour, meeting clients for a business lunch, treating your special someone to a romantic dinner, or entertaining larger groups in our private dining room,Phoenix City Grille is a great destination. Find out why people from all over the valley visit this cozy neighborhood tavern. Join us today at Phoenix City Grille. If you are interested in booking parties larger than 20 people, please call us directly.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Try the Salmon on the cedar plank.
Always my favorite!
They have a great selection of gluten free and vegetarian foods as well.
The staff is really friendly.
Great wines too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words about Phoenix City Grille. We appreciate it when customers take the time to share their thoughts with us.

Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    71
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go there”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have food allergies but this was not a problem - waitress couldnt have been more helpful. We visited twice on a weekly visit to Phoenix from the UK - the pot roast is to die for, ribs are amazing and steak cuts like butter. Would highly recommend a visit - best place we ate - just wish I could have brought the pot roast home !!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Wow...Such great reviews from someone in the UK. How great is that. We are really glad that you enjoyed our Pot Roast...Next time, we'll box some up for you :-)

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A place where the locals frequent”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Been here numerous times over the years and it is consistently good. Nice selection to choose from, and always well presented. My lunchcompanion ordered the salmon which she said was delicious, and would still be talking about it into next week! I opted for the roasted beet salad with grilled chicken. I know....booorrring. But the greens were fresh, the chicken grilled to perfection, and best of all, the salad wasn't swimming in dressing.

We split a piece of the peach cobbler cheesecake. Our taste buds were absolutely jumping for joy. It was to die for!

Lots of locals frequent this place - an often. It's located in a strip mall in an area that is undergoing a revitalization. Don't let that stop you from trying this place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and nice thoughts about Phoenix City Grille.

We are glad you enjoyed the Peach Cheesecake...This month we have pumpkin, maybe you would enjoy that...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First trip to PCG”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recently moved to the area around this restaurant. Friends suggested that I try it.I would recommend trying it on date night
Seemed dark and romantic. I brought my 8year old and was worried when I noticed there was no children's menu. Our amazing waitress asked my son what he wanted for dinner. She told us that the kitchen would make whatever he wanted. She also helped my husband choose a vegan dish. Since there were none on the menu the kitchen made his to order.I had the chicken sandwich with black bean soup. Soup was a bit spicy but with excellent flavor. Service was above and beyond expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juljayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for stopping in and giving us a try.

We're glad that we were able to make your 8 year old and your husband happy by making them something that met their tastes.

We hope that now you are a neighbor, you'll stop in and see us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I like the atmosphere-friendly and welcoming. The food is very good and I especially like the corn cake with chicken and black beans.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Betty,

Glad you had a nice experience with us...

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix City Grille also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing