We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best grocery store in the Valley!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AJ's Purveyor of Fine Foods

AJ's Purveyor of Fine Foods
Ranked #8 of 57 Bakeries in Phoenix
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best grocery store in the Valley!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

They "get" it about food! Fun place to be, lots of tastes, beautiful produce, gorgeous meat and seafood, extensive cheese and beverage selection. If you go to Whole Foods you deserve what you get!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank majorfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Great, but SO expensive!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We called in here, as we fancied eating in rather than going out. A wonderful selection of food for all tastes and diets, and nicely presented. We chose a portion of macaroni cheese, and 3 ginger and chili salmon fillets with 1 salad. It was only when I got home that I realised we had paid $33 just for the 3 pieces of salmon, with the bill coming to $57! Next time , I think we will eat out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2holidayinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Selection of Meats, Seafoods, Wine & Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This chain of Grocery Stores in the Metro Phoenix area, also has a sushi bar inside several of the stores, not to mention excellent prepared foods(both hot and cold), desserts, beers by the bottle for visitors. If given the choice of AJ's versus Whole Foods, AJ's wins hands down!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pftambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Place to pick up a quick bite or Groceries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This cute, tasteful grocery store has just about everything you need. A great place for trinkets or flowers too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank meme_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Az
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

A little pricey but WELL worth it! Their meat is worth every penny!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Purveyor of Fine Foods also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to AJ's Purveyor of Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing