We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good steakhouse”
Review of Durant's

Durant's
Reserve with OpenTable
Durant's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,086 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Encanto
Cross street: Virginia
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a very good steakhouse”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We liked Durant's well enough to go twice in a 4 day visit to Phoenix! It is not my favorite steakhouse but very good! I did enjoy my meals and the atmosphere was nice in a nostalgic way...but I felt like something was keeping this very good...not excellant. Perhaps the service was not as great as we have had elsewhere. Perhaps the food was not excellant, but very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwinter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    128
    59
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A classic state house in the heart of Phoenix!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Friendly staff! Feels you are traveling back in time to what a classic steak house should be like. No complaints about my 16oz prime rib!!! I had a great time and would return for my dose of steak in a heart beat!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

By far, my favorite steak house on the planet. The atmosphere of this place is incredible. You have to be a fan of old school to enjoy it so much, but the bar is awesome, the service rocks, and the food is pretty darn good. It's a landmark...not a chain.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReefDiver33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Atmosphere but average food when comapred to other Steak House”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Love this place. They have really kept the place up and the service is great. I will always continue to go here but compared to some of the higher end steak house they don't really compare. If your looking for Mastros or Capital Grill type food quality it just does not compete but it is not priced to either. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 64kkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Favorite spot in Phoenix...”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing food, amazing cocktails...especially the martinis, great old-timey mafioso atmosphere. Love it! Great bar menu also that is super reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durant's also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Durant's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing