We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Chicken Fried Steak”
Review of TEXAZ Grill

TEXAZ Grill
Ranked #79 of 3,086 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: TEXAZ Grill is a long time Central Phoenix favorite for folks from all walks of life. This is one special place to dine on a superior steak prepared with great care. Take a look around TEXAZ Grill and you will see an amazing collection of unique decorations including historic signs, Texas memorabilia, vintage advertisements and a Juke Box full of 45’s by native born Texans.Although TEXAZ Grill is known for the famed Chicken Fried Steak so big you’ll have two meals, they also serve a wide range of fresh foods. Carefully cooked, high quality chicken, steak, shrimp, prime rib, pork chops and catfish populate the menu at TEXAZ Grill. The shrimp are #1 Mexicans - the best shrimp you can get. The delicious steaks are USDA Choice, perfectly aged and hand cut in house and you will know it on sight when you take your first bite. What you will not experience is the sticker shock like most steak houses. TEXAZ Grill gives a real bang for the buck.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Glorious Chicken Fried Steak”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Awesome place in AZ that has a ton of personality. Mainly comfort food, the chicken fried steak is one of the best I have ever had and ridiculously huge to boot. The biscuits and coleslaw that came with were quite tasty as well. While not for the health conscious, definitely a place to go and have a good meal. On top of all this, our server was one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Chris,
We do love to think of ourselves as a destination for comfort food. Everyone deserves a treat from time to time and we’re happy to provide that.

Thanks for the recommendation, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    76
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Terrell, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“10 Texas thumbs up!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband & our 3 girls headed back to Texas from the Grand Canyon just had to check this place out & see if it was the real deal! Great food, great service~ Texas Style all the way! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faithhopeandlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for swingin' by on your way home. Hope we gave the family a little taste of home while you were vacationing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG huge portions & tastes great!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I got the chicken friend steak plate each , one with gravey & one without. So huge overfilled the plate and was very tasty! Waitress was Helena she just the sweetest & attentive waitress we have had in a long long time (was during pack lunch rush too!) Atmosphere fun & tons of decore to look at on the walls. We also shared the homeaid bread pudding, yummy!

Helpful?
Thank Danita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks Danita for taking time to share your thoughts on our Chicken Fried Steak. We think Helena is a sweetheart too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best pork chops other then my own.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I'm a creature of habit when I go to specific restaurants. TEXAZ has by far the best Southern Pork Chops and coleslaw in the entire state of Arizona. The staff is friendly and the food comes quick.The interior is a little quirky, but the food makes up for that. If you are ever in the Phoenix area and want some good old fashioned comfort food this place does not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slimpickens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks Slimpickens56 for pointing out our Pork Chops, we're glad you enjoyed and keep comin' back for them. BTW, we are a little quirky, but that's a good thing right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smokin'”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Texaz is a unique setting. Looking more like a neighborhood bar inside, Texaz offered food that is surprisingly good and not typical bar food. The mesquite smoked prime rib kept me going back during an extend work engagement in Phoenix. Service is fair and prices are reasonable. A good value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks Wayne...You hit the nail on the head...We're just trying to be a friendly place with excellent value,good service and a comfortable atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TEXAZ Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to TEXAZ Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing