We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll LOVE this place..... YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TEXAZ Grill

TEXAZ Grill
Ranked #64 of 3,061 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: TEXAZ Grill is a long time Central Phoenix favorite for folks from all walks of life. This is one special place to dine on a superior steak prepared with great care. Take a look around TEXAZ Grill and you will see an amazing collection of unique decorations including historic signs, Texas memorabilia, vintage advertisements and a Juke Box full of 45’s by native born Texans.Although TEXAZ Grill is known for the famed Chicken Fried Steak so big you’ll have two meals, they also serve a wide range of fresh foods. Carefully cooked, high quality chicken, steak, shrimp, prime rib, pork chops and catfish populate the menu at TEXAZ Grill. The shrimp are #1 Mexicans - the best shrimp you can get. The delicious steaks are USDA Choice, perfectly aged and hand cut in house and you will know it on sight when you take your first bite. What you will not experience is the sticker shock like most steak houses. TEXAZ Grill gives a real bang for the buck.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You'll LOVE this place..... YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

To start this gastronomical adventure, let me just say, if you like comfort food, prime rib or high end steak, you can't go wrong by eating here!
The staff treats you like a long lost relative, the servings are very generous, and Steve's love of providing the very best to his customers shines through in every dish.
I've been eating here for over 15 yrs and still can't get past the Chicken Fried Steak, so a menu most of the time for me is not required! Do try the pork chops, double dipped and fried just like the chicken fry, or without the breading and cooked on the grill, YUM!
My wife agrees with others the "6 or 10 oz burger" is one of the best in town, not to mention "BBQ Thursdays, but you better bring a "big" appetite as Steve again out does himself serving you links, brisket, ribs, and fixin's, dogie bags are available! Freidy's filet is melt in your mouth, then there's "in house" smoked prime rib that fulfills even the most discerning pallet. Fish fry Friday, if you like COD, get on down here, because Steve's gotta have a "hook up" with the fisherman! This COD is so flaky it has to still be squirming when the supplier delivers it!
Well, by now your thinking Steve has paid for this rambling, but alas, I haven't received a penny for my review, nor do I expect one!
What I do know is every time I enter TEXAZ Grill, Steve will provide the best product available, perfectly prepared, and served by a GREAT STAFF for a very affordable and competitive price! COME & ENJOY......

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Larry…With so many great things to say, they are going to think that you work for us :-) We're pretty simple when it comes down to it. Great food at fair prices for great folks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    76
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Cod on Friday's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

You will never find a more tender Cod Fillet then on Fridays at Texaz Grill. The Cod flakes as you put your fork into it for a bite. It come with homemade chip but I always ask for their homemade coleslaw instead. I usually go to Texaz Grill for Freddy's Fillet but I can get that any day of the week that's why Friday's are reserved for fresh cod fish at Texas Grill.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We're always glad to see ya on Friday's. We think our fish is some of the best in the city and we're thrilled that you do too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go more than once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Best filet in town for the money, great bread pudding. This was not my first time I have been eating at TexAz for over 20 years. Lunches are inexpensive. Try the all meat chili!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbuffington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks so much for being a customer for over 20 years! We love it when ya just keep comin' back and tryin' something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM...BEST Darn Toot-n Restaurant in Phoenix !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've been to the fanciest (most expensive) and "family friendly" restaurants in Phoenix for the last 35+ years and "hands down" the TAXAZ Grill is by far the BEST "Darn Toot-N" restaurant in Phoenix! The "friendly" staff make you feel right at home and the "vittles" and beverages just can't be beat. The prices are down right cheep for the quality and quantity that you receive. The only warning I would give is you better come hungry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks Bill...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memories of Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A 7th generation born and breed Texan from Corpus Christi, I have lived in Arizona for 14 years. We found this awesome little slice of home on an overnight trip to Phoenix. I hand their chicken fried steak and it was good. Steak was just the right thickness, the breading was right on the money, the mashed tators were just like grandma used to make, and the Dr. Pepper was just like it was when you got it at the drug store fountain stand. The dish reminded me of a diner back home that had the best country fried steak around. Anyway, a true hidden gem. Posters and memorabilia on the walls took me back to a time of great memories and great food. Give it a try u too will enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myjaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Really glad we reminded you of home! We love when we can bring a little of the great state of Texas to the transplants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TEXAZ Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to TEXAZ Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing