We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxed environment”
Review of Tomaso's

Tomaso's
Reserve with OpenTable
Tomaso's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 3,113 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Transit: Valley Metro lines 50 & 32
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxed environment”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Never had a bad time nor meal at Tomaso's. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the food well worth a visit. It is in a nice, convenient location with free valet parking. Definitely worth a visit, especially if you are in the Camelback/Esplinade corridor.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmicusInPectore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    27
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a lovely, old school Italian restaurant inexplicably located in a strip center. Had the concierge at the Biltmore not recommended it so highly, I would never have thought of going there. Once inside you feel like you are far away in a quiet, high end restaurant. The service was attentive and friendly, but the food was incredible. I had eggplant with an accompanying butternut squash ravioli, which I would love to eat once a week. My companion had the beggar’s purse stuffed with pear and gorgonzola cheese, which was also amazing. The wine list was also a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed a Pinot Grigio our server recommended but I noticed a Rombauer Chardonnay at $20 less than we had paid in Houston a week ago.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 star service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our waiter, Gerardo, was a great server. Everything was top notch. Portions size were good. Lots of value. Server suggested a wine that I would love to have another glass right now! Manager came to our table and checked to see if everything was ok. I haven't had that happen in a long time. Our waiter knew his product and delivered it with professionalism. We were visiting from Florida, Michigan and Fountain Hills, AZ. Will return when we come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egotz2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Italian taste”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you are looking for real Italian food, this is not the place to eat. Pastas are over cooked, source is not good, sea bass is too dry, and calamari does not have any taste. Quality of food and taste is same as Olive Garden or less.
If you want to have chain restaurant quality food with pricy menu, go for it.
I will never go back there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveladvisor911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tomaso's - A wonderful little find”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Driving past Tomaso's, we decided we liked what we saw. It has that neighborhood, " where the locals go" type of look. Sure enough, it felt exactly like that when we went in. Great personal service and quiet enough to hear your dining partners. We shared an appetizer of Buratta Cheese surrounded with fresh strawberries, walnuts and dressed with a balsamic dressing. It wasn't what we thought we would get but it was fantastic!! next we shared the chicken parmesean which was deliciously thin and crispy topped with salad greens such as arugula with grape tomatoes and parmesan and it was all dressed perfectly. It was a wonderful dish.
We were totally satisfied with Tomaso's!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomaso's also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tomaso's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing