We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor area”
Review of Richardson's

Richardson's
Reserve with OpenTable
Richardson's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 3,101 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: Maryland
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great outdoor area”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Loved the Outside patio and food was great! DIned here for lunch Saturday. Great guacamole and the french fries are to die for!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    88
    23
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lost their mojo”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

When we were going to be visiting Phoenix and our friends told us they'd made reservations at Richardsons, we were excited. Business travel took us frequently to Phoenix in the past and Richardsons was one of our favorites. This was our first visit since the fire. The new restaurant is very attractive but the service and the food was a real disappointment.

Luckily we were catching up with our friends so we weren't in any rush but it got to be ridiculous. Our server would finally bring us water but didn't stop long enough to take our drink order. We finally ordered the bottle of wine we wanted but he took off before we could order the food. Our food came on metal platters that were super hot (we waited forever!) but our enchiladas were welded to the metal platter. Even if you discount that, they tasted just so-so.

None of us plan to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The set menu of New Mexican specialties are reasonably priced and are reliably very good. The blackboard specials are pricier and generally excellent. The servers are friendly, knowledgeable and experienced. The place was moved down the street after a fire, though most of the original furnishings were maintained. The new site is less cozy than the original, so I've gone from a regular to an occasional visitor. Still, this is a quality neighborhood restaurant, not an easy find in Phoenix. Give it a try. I doubt you'll regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

the food is super great and it's worth a reservation to go and enjoy. it's a small place and they always have a special .... this is not your blue plate special deal either.... they have a little bit of everything for every taste....

Helpful?
Thank Herman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A disappointment... (sadly)”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ok..let me start by saying that Richardson's was ONCE my favorite resturant in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area! For years I could hardly wait to dine there when in the area. former Pres. Geo. Bush ate there once while campaigning for God's sake!! So when I heard they had rebuilt after the fire, I was anxous to go there last week while visiting friends. We were all super happy to see NOTHING HAD CHANGED!! The decor, everything looked as it did before the fire! What did change however was the food. Our 3 lunch entree's were terrible! ALL 3!!! The Pear Margarita's were fabulous! Our waiter was great! But collectively our food was too spicy, and too bland, and my stuffed chili was stiff and tasteless! I was sadly so unempressed that I didn't wish to return during my 6 day stay. :(

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakejoyjolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richardson's also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Richardson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing