We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally some authentic Cuban Food!”
Review of Havana Cafe - CLOSED

Havana Cafe
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camelback East
phoenix
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“finally some authentic Cuban Food!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can honestly say i have nothing bad to say about this place. My husband is 1/2 cuban and we know authentic. If you are looking for a great cuban restaurant, delicious food, and a nice vibe, GO HERE. It was our anniversary and decided to check this place out after passing by Havana multiple times. Of course we started out with there homemade Sangria which is not only delicious, but not shy of alcohol content. Appetizer we got was FRESH fried plantains that comes with a tasty bean dip. One of my biggest pet peeves is receiving food thats cold. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. The food was amazing and hot just like we like it. I had the cuban pulled pork that came with onions and peppers, black beans and rice. My husband had Ropa Viejo (braised shredded cuban beef) with rice and beans as well. Portions were very large and i almost always bring a doggy bag home....well this time i ate my entire plate LOL. For dessert we had coconut Flan. Our entire bill with 2 drinks, appetizer, 2 entrees, and dessert was $60 + tip. Please give it a try, you will not be dissapointed :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truereviewsPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So good and great service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been wanting to go to this place for the longest of time. And during this trip, I finally had the opportunity to try it out after hearing about their extension gluten free menu.

It certainly did not disappoint. I had their Gazpacho, Pollo Parilla, and Arroz con Leche. They are absolutely great, and it certainly tastes just like a homecook meal.

Though the decor is not what you are looking for, but the food will make it up to you. You can't leave Phoenix without trying this place out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImpulseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still a solid choice”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Phoenix--we eat here every year when we visit for spring training. We've had many great meals here and hope to have many more. This time we had the black bean fritters as an appetizer--which were awesome. I'm sorry it's taken us so many visits to try them. I had the picadillo which was good, but not as good as some of the other things I've had here (arroz con pollo, pollo gallena). My partner also felt is entre wasn't as good as some of the dishes he's had in the past. But we still felt like it was a good meal and will return on a future visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Food with excellent Service”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love seafood and well seasoned food.
The best part is they welcome questioned and will
accomodate you with varying the dish to suit your needs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MesaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Cuban food north of Miami”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent Cuban food, we always go with a large group so we can sample the menu. The pulled pork is wonderful. Don't let the plastic chairs and plastic table cloths fool you the food more than makes up for the decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Cafe also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing