We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salty food and soggy salad”
Review of Rustler's Rooste

Rustler's Rooste
Ranked #56 of 3,080 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Mountain
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Salty food and soggy salad”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

As the title states, the food was salty. When asked how is the food? We replied very salty. Server replied sorry about that. You want me to send it back for an order without sauce? The problem is the BBQ sauce is not salty it was the meat. We ordered the This and that and the Full rack of Ribs BTW.
The Salad had the crispiness of an over ripe banana. No really, the salad was as though it was made a couple of hours earlier and left out in 70 degree room.
The Band is great the atmosphere is entertaining. I am sure if you drank a bit (too much) and snacked on the food you would rate it higher.
Not for us, not going back. No offense. Salt is best applied at the table not in the kitchen. If you have a refined pallet, you should skip it. IF you drink and love Jack in the Box, or eat bags of potato chips you will love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dependable_Honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    489
    300
    90
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big Portions - Average Food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Huge place and huge portions. You won't leave this place Hungry, but you may not be satisfied. I eat at a lot of different steakhouses and this one I found quite bland, the steak wasn't the best cut and all of the food felt like it was quickly thrown together with little thought on quality. I won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bleedingcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with great atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This was such a cool restaurant. I love that they even have a big steer outside. The atmosphere is great from the slide and sawdust on the floor and the live music. The views are great especially at sunset and at night. I would definitely come back again when I'm in Phoenix again. I recommend their pork ribs. They are fall off the bone good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debnevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
2 reviews
“Kids loved it....”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Food was OK but kids loved the slide, bull, snake experience. Needs some work on the quality of the food. Just so so......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geovanna2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great night out with Jetsave”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second stop on Jetsave Wonders of the golden west tour. All Great fun a reall cowboy deal, Steak and all the trimmings, Rattle Sake if you fancy it too. Line Dancing well I hated that part, I cant Dance he he. Came on Labour Day a real hoot. Sat at long tables food very fast got to know our other travellers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djstarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustler's Rooste also viewed

 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rustler's Rooste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing