We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of T. Cook's

T. Cook's
Reserve with OpenTable
T. Cook's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 3,088 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: Camelback Rd and 52nd St
Description: At the heart of the resort, T. Cook's culinary philosophy of magnifying the purity of fresh, seasonal ingredients is a celebration of its treasured legacy. For nearly two decades, T. Cook's has garnered both local and national acclaim. This time-honored tradition lives through the vision of Executive Chef Todd Allison. Chef Allison's culinary style can be summed up in three words - crafted, thoughtful and bold - which are all precisely in line with the Mediterranean principles of fresh, seasonal, local and ingredient-driven cooking.Explore the new T. Cook's this season. Whether for a special, romantic occasion with a candlelit dinner on one of our two patios, complete with scenic Camelback Mountain views, inviting fireplaces and blooming bougainvillea; for socializing with friends inside T. Cook's vibrant and colorful new dining room or glass-enclosed Wine and Tequila tasting room; or, for inviting colleagues to your next power lunch. All of this and more are currently on the menu at T. Cook's restaurant this season, located in the heart of the Phoenix and Scottsdale area.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Anniversary celebration! We were married at Royal Palms 10 yrs. ago, thought to re-visit to celebrate. What a mistake. Overall the atmosphere is still the same, quiet, beautiful, serene. Had no idea the new menu began 5 days earlier. The homemade pesto and bread was delish, sorry we didn't keep this on the table, but we actually didn't have a choice, they removed it immediately after the bread was gone, oh yeah, the 2 pieces of bread. The pea soup w/lobster had absolutely no taste whatsoever, still looking for the lobster, the foie gras w/risotto was great! The black cod that I ordered listed asparagus, I asked if I could please have another vegetable was told by the server "this is a new menu and the Chef will not want to substitute anything", I proceeded to tell him I was allergic to asparagus, could I possibly have spaghetti squash? was told I could have carrots, seriously? Menu listed truffle creamed corn, has anyone seen it? I didn't. What showed up was a bed of carrots, piece of fish on top and 4 greens with 2 orange slices, absolutely tasteless, had to ask for lemon to try and perk it up. Husband ordered the Charred Bison ribeye, again, no flavor, so chewy and tough, he left most of it. What a disappointment, but I will say the rose petals on the table were thoughtful. The table, oh that was tucked in a corner leading to the outside patio and I sat and looked at a brick wall. Asked about dessert and carmel cheesecake creme brulee, told they no longer have it on the menu, coconut creme brulee, asked for the check and dashed over to Krispy Kreme!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate the feedback Marci. We sincerely value all guest feedback and take what you have to say to heart. Such sentiments are shared with the entire team as we never stop searching for ways to exceed guest expectations. We definitely hope to see you again very soon and provide us with another opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    142
    67
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Had not been here in almost a year and had forgotten that the food is really good.
After being led to a table close to a door that opened frequently and requesting to be moved the evening was very pleasant. Good service and good quality food made for a nice time out with friends. The beet salad was delish and so were the other salads and appetizers. Everyone praised their entrees as well. And the chocolate desert was just right to be shared amongst all.
Will be back for lunch with the girls.

Cheers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sintragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Premium prices, so-so menu choices”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As local residents we thought it was time to revisit this restaurant as we hadn't been there for several years. The dining room reflects a warm romantic atmosphere and the wait staff is very attentive. Robert took excellent care of us and we were able to carry on a conversation without a lot of ambient noise. There is outdoor patio seating which we did not take advantage of this chilly evening but there were heaters available.
We each ordered the Winter Pear Salad which was a small portion for the price but very flavorful. Entree choices were more difficult as the menu, disappointingly, seemed to lean towards preparations that used unhealthful sauces or odd (cheap??) accompaniments such as the grits served with my husband's $52 ribeye. With all the healthy grains used by other area restaurants in very creative ways, the grits seemed an odd choice. My husband also likes lamb but the entree was described as being off the bone and mixed with cheese?? I ordered the sea bass which is usually served with potato. I requested no starch and got broccolini and baby carrots instead. The sea bass portion was fairly small compared to other area restaurants. We would have ordered dessert but creme brulee seemed to dominate two of the choices and there weren't any fruit-based or cake based options other than chocolate. For the prices and portion sizes there are other resort and locally-owned restaurants that offer more value and healthy eating options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingerbear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and value the detailed notes. We are excited to announce that this past week we debuted our brand new dinner menu which we are very proud of. We would love you to return to T. Cook's someday soon and give us another opportunity to impress and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere, Excellent Food!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at The Royal Palm in the past and returned to enjoy the restaurant while in Phoenix on business. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and our server was outstanding! I started with the Winter Pear Salad, which was wonderful, and had the Lobster Tortellini for my entree and savored every bite! The four of us then split the Inside Out ‘Ice Cream’ Sandwich and the Caramel Cheesecake Crème Brulee. Every bite melted in my mouth!

T. Cook's has now become my favorite restaurant anywhere!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Villagequilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We great feedback, truly makes us feel proud about what we try and do each and every day - with each and every guest. Thank you for taking a moment to share this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, bad dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had brekfast there and it was really good (ordered a la carte). Dinner was terrible though. Our server got the order wrong and the food was cold when it arrived to our table. Salad was more of a mix of dry fruit with a bit of lettuce and fetta cheese. Would not have dinner there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank magda_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. We always strive to deliver memorable, high quality experiences for all guests, for all meals. We always share these thoughts with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. Cook's also viewed

Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to T. Cook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing