We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be a great happy hour :(”
Review of T. Cook's

T. Cook's
Reserve with OpenTable
T. Cook's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 3,132 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: Camelback Rd and 52nd St
Description: At the heart of the resort, T. Cook's culinary philosophy of magnifying the purity of fresh, seasonal ingredients is a celebration of its treasured legacy. For nearly two decades, T. Cook's has garnered both local and national acclaim. This time-honored tradition lives through the vision of Executive Chef Todd Allison. Chef Allison's culinary style can be summed up in three words - crafted, thoughtful and bold - which are all precisely in line with the Mediterranean principles of fresh, seasonal, local and ingredient-driven cooking.Explore the new T. Cook's this season. Whether for a special, romantic occasion with a candlelit dinner on one of our two patios, complete with scenic Camelback Mountain views, inviting fireplaces and blooming bougainvillea; for socializing with friends inside T. Cook's vibrant and colorful new dining room or glass-enclosed Wine and Tequila tasting room; or, for inviting colleagues to your next power lunch. All of this and more are currently on the menu at T. Cook's restaurant this season, located in the heart of the Phoenix and Scottsdale area.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

T. Cooks at the Royal Palms used to be outstanding, however something happened to thier happy hour menu from the last time I was there. We had several items off the menu including the mussels, baked brie, pretzel bites and the shrimp tacos. We also had several cocktails which is usually the best part. The mussels were very large and chewy, obviously over done. The baked brie was small and of not the best quality. The pretzel bites were probably the biggest let down. They looked like they went to the nearest Costco and bought a box out of the freezer section. The shirmp tacos were the best item we had. They also changed the drink menu, deleteing a special for a classic up or dirty martini which was my favorite part of their happy hour. Some other friends of mine had a problem with the furnishings as well. The leather on the chairs we sat in was so worn you culd see the stuffing and the cushions so old you had to sit on the pillows to feel as if you were a part of the conversation. Other than the history and elegance of the Royal Plams this happy hour went to the bottom of the list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 01MattAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are very sorry to hear of your recent experience at T. Cook's Lounge, Matt. We value the feedback and will absolutely relay this to our entire team - as we always do. We always strive to provide top-quality, memorable experiences and take such criticism to heart. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for T. Cook's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 627 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely evening in the small room with a fireplace. The main dining room looked nice as did the outside tables overlooking the hacienda's gardens. We had the lobster bisque and winter pear salad to start, both of which were outstanding. We then had the tenderloin and lamb stuffed with marscopone cheese. Again, outstanding. Our server was very helpful and attentive. The dining room is scheduled for a full renovation in the near future. We loved it. Though I was there with a friend, it a very romantic spot.
There was also live music playing at the bar when we left which sounded like fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dctraveller702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We appreciate the positive comments. Thank you for taking a moment to relay your experience with all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The team at T. Cook’s make it all seem effortless: the place is a favorable blend of timeless decor and elegant, but easy-going atmosphere; the cooking is top-notch; and from the initial cozy welcome to the final helping-on of coats, service is a model of charm and proficiency. When front of house know the premium details of how a balsamic caramel is drizzled and confidently advise on wine pairings while making pleasant conversation - then you know you're in a fine-dining establishment. The simple but succulent food does full justice to the atmosphere. A Focaccia Flatbread crammed with Italian sausage, fontina cheese and arugula was subtly seasoned with truffle oil. Juicy 21 day dry-aged Rib eye, heroically flavorful, came with classic foraged mushrooms, mouthwatering black truffle grits and bone marrow bordelaise. Unequivocal praise goes to the duck with candied orange, asparagus and thyme potatoes.

No wonder T. Cook's is a favorite among locals and celebrities. It’s timeless, classic. Proof that great taste never goes out of fashion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words! We appreciate you taking a moment to leave us the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I would not suggest the sea bass but given our locale, I should have realized fish selections might not be the best choice. The steak entrees were spectacular. The food in the lounge across from T. Cook were excellent as well. Try the homemade toffee popcorn and the short rib with goat cheese. Fabulous

Thank supercat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we sincerely appreciate it all and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wanting to take our dearest friends out for a really nice brunch we chose T. Cooks because they've been topnotch in the past.
The ambiance and the food were as usual wonderful. My husband chose the brunch buffet which was beautifully presented and quite varied. The other three of us ordered off the menu and all were very pleased with our food.
So what made this average? The service! The waiter left paper trash on the table, we had to ask for refills on drinks, he never offered or brought hot water for my tea. Extremely inattentive and surly. When my husband ordered a caffe latte he was served something completely different and the waiter argued with him. At this caliber of restaurant we expect the best. I will admit I have a bias when it comes to service. I go out because I want to be taken care of, I don't want to have to track down a waiter for another hot tea.
And yes I did write this up for the restaurant.
Compare it to our experience at Houston's a couple of nights later, where the service is always impeccable and I would be hard pressed to go back to T. Cooks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BakeR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at T. Cook's, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with your party's recent brunch service. We know you have a choice when dining out and are always happy to greet return guests.

We strive to provide wonderful and memorable dining experiences for everyone, all the time, and regret hearing of moments that don't meet our standards. We'd love to invite you back to T. Cook's in the near future - whether for brunch or otherwise - and provide us with another opportunity to impress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. Cook's also viewed

 
Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
 

Been to T. Cook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing