We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good South Mex”
Review of Canyon Cafe

Canyon Cafe
Ranked #77 of 3,101 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our Mission at Canyon cafe is to skillfully prepare and creatively present food & beverages influenced by the American Southwest. Guests may enjoy our hand-shaken Margaritas, our Chef's signature creations, or foods you know with a unique Southwest twist. let us provide you with a truly enjoyable meal and experience. We want you to leave happy and return often!
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Good South Mex”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were looking for a place that had good Arizona type food. This place had a great mixture variety. The atmosphere was nice with outdoor seating and a good view. The food was good and fairly priced. Originally I did not get what I ordered, but my corrected food came out within minutes of sending the wrong entrée back to the kitchen.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hnb678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    136
    62
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fresh Mexican food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to eat in downtown Phoenix. You can tell the food is all made fresh. The Carnitas Platter was delicious, so was the table side guacamole.

Helpful?
Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We went back another night!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

In Phoenix for work related event. Walked across the street to see what we could find for dinner. Canyon Cafe was a very pleasant surprise! Indoor or outdoor seating - smiling wait staff all night long. Cocktail menu is really good - not all tequila - and all of our questions answered. Chips and salsa were not your average corn chips and jar salsa. A second batch arrived without asking when the first basket was near empty. Dinner choices were wide - not all the expected "mexican" options. Fish Tacos - excellent. Salmon was delicious. Chicken special with jalapeno gravy was excellent. We tried another place the next night but came back here on the third night. The staff were glad to see us!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seacoastbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everyone else pales in comparison”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Everything from the chips and salsa to our meals were incredible. This restaurant raised the bar on Mexican food in general. We loved the beautiful atmosphere looking at the gorgeous lit trees in back and our server was top notch. Another for a our list of favorite Phoenix restaurants!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErinM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor lunch spot.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a late lunch here on the patio soaking up some sun. The area doesn’t get suuny til about 2 and is shaded otherwise. It overlooks a nice garden/fountain area. Great food, good margaritas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Cafe also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Canyon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing