We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, if it weren't deafening”

Mariscos Playa Hermosa
Ranked #338 of 3,101 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Central City
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“wonderful, if it weren't deafening”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived at around 7:30 on a Friday evening and waited about 10 minutes for a table. The musicians--two guitars, a violin, a trumpet--were fun at first, but the restaurant is cramped and the volume deafening. We couldn't hear each other, and people at other tables were shrieking to be heard by their friends. It didn't help that the violin was way out of tune. When the musicians finally took a break we thought we'd be able to chat a little, but then the music system started up, almost as loud as the live music, and the nearby tables kept on shouting. The food is excellent, some of the best I've had in Phoenix. Call ahead to ask about music. If the quartet is going to be there and you don't want to damage your ears, find someplace else. If it were less deafening, this would be a wonderful place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you like finding dives with great food, this is the place. We ordered the molcajete as recommended online (a different review site) and it was spectacular. Wish I could recreate that at home. Everything else we ate was delicious as well.
Skip the overpriced tourist traps in Scottsdale and make the drive to this authentic Mexican gem.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
943 reviews
710 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Authentic and Superb”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We ordered the whole fish, one with red diablo sauce, the other with white garlic sauce. Both great. Mine with ice cold beer. Hers with a great margarita. Full Mexican menu. Great soup. This restaurant is a memorable must in Phoenix! Clientele mostly locals.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“5 Star!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The best Mexican restaurant in Phoenix! Although this place is small and parking is not abundant, it should not matter. The food was super delicious. The service was excellent. The ambience is perfect.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PantheraOnca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow. Just WOW”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Looks to be a hole in the wall, but stepping inside was like a trip to Mexico. Beer was cold and the seafood was fantastic; I had the seafood soup and while the seafood (shrimp, clams, crab, etc) were great, the broth was incredible. The other dishes the rest of the family had were just as good. Topped it all off with FLAN! Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank koho1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Playa Hermosa also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Mariscos Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing