We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”

The Original Carolina's Mexican Food
Ranked #101 of 3,085 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went for dinner on a Sunday at 7 pm, on recommendation of a friend. It was closed and dark. I am not sure it was a real restaurant but said "take out tortillas." Not worth the trip as I drove a ways to get there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LM4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    69
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
548 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great food at incredible prices”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is one of the best Mexican restaurants in the Phoenix area. It is definitely a local favorite. There's something about simplicity and "hole-in-the-wall" types of restaurants. There's nothing fancy here - just good food and a lot of it. The portions are very large and the prices are ridiculously low. Just a phenomenal bargain for great food.

We had somewhat of a bad experience when phoning in an order. We called two hours before we picked it up and they apparently didn't put the order in so we had to wait almost 30 minutes for it to be filled. Other than that, there is nothing but positive things about Carolina's.

Oh yeah, they don't sell their tortillas anymore :(

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dreaming about the tortillas”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place makes me wish I lived in Phoenix! The tortillas are incredible, and the green chili is to die for. Its quick mexican food but it is all homemade. Cheap and tasty! If you are scared away by a divey looking place, this may not be the location for you, but it is clean and worth the wait (there will be one).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tclarkjr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

While visiting friends in Phoenix my friend, who has lived in PHX his whole life, took me to Carolina's to sample the local Mexican cuisine. The Macha Burro was by far my favorite but everything we got was fabulous. It's not in the best area, right near the airport, but well worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tclarkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eat with the locals”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This little hole in the wall is a great place to eat with the locals and experience wonderful local Mexican food. I had combination 13 which included a beef enchilada, taco, tostada, rice, and beans; I added a red tamale to the order. The tostada, rice, and beans tasted like what you would find at any Mexican restaurant, however, the taco and enchilada were spectacular! The red tamale was good and different from a normal Mexican restaurant, but a little dry.

The salsa is hot! I am a salsa aficionado and I love hot salsa and hot, spicy food. When I eat at a Mexican restaurant, I always ask for the hot salsa. The regular salsa here is very hot and very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Carolina's Mexican Food also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Original Carolina's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing