We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hole in the Wall Mexican food!!!”

The Original Carolina's Mexican Food
Ranked #97 of 3,086 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
AZ
Level Contributor
315 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Best Hole in the Wall Mexican food!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stopped in after a FULL day at the Arizona Science Center & picked up dinner - bean & cheese burritos for the kids, the Oxaca special for adults, extra beans & tortillas to go! This place dishes up Mexican food done right & at great prices. The food is addicting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluelagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    69
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local Mexican food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is no friills Mexican Food. The homemade tortillas are fantastic. Get a dozen to go. I love their bean and potato burro.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IndySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“BEST TORTILLA IN THE SOUTHWEST”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is the real deal. Stellar food, best tortillas on the planet. The breakfast burritos are the best I have ever had. It may be in the hood but it is worth the drive. There is always a line because it is that good!

Helpful?
Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We go to Carolina's as often as we can. Their food is awesome. I have yet to try something I did not like. Even though the line may seem long, they move people through very quickly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrplG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanborn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the food, worth the wait.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I go as often as I can, because I love the food. The wait can be long, but the experience is worth the wait. I go by myself and people-watch, and I go with my family to enjoy the family atmosphere in a kitchen setting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank launcher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Carolina's Mexican Food also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Original Carolina's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing