We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky vibe, cool menu, stiff drinks”

Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,101 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st and Jefferson
Transit: Conveniently located on the light rail path. Washington and Central when traveling west bound and Jefferson and First Avenue when traveling east bound
Description: A Contemporary American Gastro-lounge located in the heart of the Phoenix"s vibrant Cityscape development downtown. Chef Sean Currid draws inspiration from local Arizona purveyors and farmers for an ingredient-driven New American social plates menu meant to be enjoyed with artisanal wines, craft cocktails and great beers. Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails presents one of Phoenix's most forward-thinking cocktail programs. The mode is neighborhood friendly but casually polished, from the cozy lobby lounge up front to the convivial dining room and patio in back. The colors, furnishings and light convey an at home vibe. Three distinct atmospheres provide a theatrical backdrop for any occasion and seating for 115 guests.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Funky vibe, cool menu, stiff drinks”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great spot in downtown Phoenix, within walking distance to just about everything. Sat at the bar and the barstaff was amazing, incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. The menu had lots of different choices some healthy and some not so much. All of them were really TASTY. The cocktail list featured all handcrafted goodies with homemade syrups and juices. Excellent mixology. The whole place had a cool vibe and is on the semi-ground floor of the Palomar hotel. Worth a stop when in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    122
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, but super LOUD”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really liked this place and the food was incredible, but it's like having dinner in a nightclub. There is a DJ playing music. At 8:00 pm. The crowd is pretty, but it sounded like a raucous sports bar the entire time. We ordered salads and the mini burgers--to die for--and the fabulous charcuterie,on which we nibbled throughout dinner. Would have ordered more, but it was too loud to talk, so we left to find a quieter place to order dessert and chat. Must be getting old.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank toodogsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch menu was run of the mill”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stopped at the Blue Hound for lunch after seeing a great review in Phoenix magazine “23 Best New Restaurants” and then following some reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately the lunch menu was disappointing when compared to the menu items described in others review. A few appetizers, salads, and sandwiches, all nothing more than ordinary. I had the Blue Hound burger, and it was good, yet well short of the $17 price tag. The Blue Hound is a good looking establishment, but not very well managed or served for the lunch crowd. My guess would be a stand-in manager on early shift if the other reviews are to be valued. My expectations were set on new and diverse options, and the lunch menu was akin to, although much less diverse than, Denny’s. Also, expect to pay for parking ($10?) since valet is the only real option convenient. Too bad, so sad. I will not bother going again when so many reliable options are available (and not just because of the parking fee).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNoFearFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, great service!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I can only review the breakfast because that was the only meal we ate here. Stayed at the hotel a couple of nights and this place was most convenient for breakfast without leaving the hotel. It's a little pricey for breakfast but it's a nice treat when you're on vacation. It's quiet, not many people were eating and the server was wonderful. Eggs benedict was great (generous hollandaise sauce), so was denver omelet and regular fried eggs if you want a hot breakfast. I liked the bagels and smoked salmon if you're into a cold plate. Coffee was strong, orange juice was fresh squeezed and the morning ambience was quiet and relaxed. We sat near the window and watched the city wake up.

We'll probably try dinner here one day soon. Hopefully it's as great as breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fred Flintstone ribs”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I did not have the short ribs but many at my table did and loved them (they smelled great). The roasted nuts and tater tots are great as an appetizer, and the baby zucchini "corn dogs' were really fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank joannmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Blue Hound Kitchen and Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing