We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Authentic India in Phoenix, AZ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Madras Bhavan

Ananda Madras Bhavan
3227 E Bell Rd SUITE D105, Phoenix, AZ
602-923-0743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,696 of 2,906 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic India in Phoenix, AZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I confess that it was a groupon that lured us to the Madras Ananda Bhavan - we could not believe that there really could be a vegetarian Indian restaurant here. The neon sign "Indian Veg" convinced us that we had found the spot and was indication as to how authentic the experience would be. We have travelled extensively in India and the signage for Veg or Non-Veg is as important there as the restaurant's name!

The menu selection was extensive and included numerous chats on the appetizer list and there was a large offering of dosas too in addition to the usual Indian fare.

We ordered a Puri Chat and onion pakoras to start. The portions were generous, the ingredients fresh and flavorful. For mains we had ordered a vegetable biryani and a mutter paneer. The mutter paneer was the best ever! The sauce was creamy but not too rich, the cheese soft and smooth. The mutter paneer was served with a small scoop of white rice so I felt that we should have chosen something other than a biryani. Now we will know for our next visit which cannot come too soon. We were fascinated by some of the dishes that were being served at neighbouring tables. The dosas looked so temptings - large crepes served with various sauces. The tomato bhajia at the table next to ours was mouth-watering - it will definitely be tried next time!

We managed to save room for a shared portion of ras mallai for dessert. A sweet taste to linger and make us eager to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel-till-I-drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Food is not bad but terrible and very disappointing service...i have given 2 stars only for the food

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonali1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First off, I admit to being a meat eater. So this restaurant is an 'alternative' for me. It is something I can do maybe once a week or so. We've taken advantage of some coupons to have mid-week dinners. In addition to that we've done their lunch buffet.

We've found the options quite tasty, the portions a bit on the large side, and the flavors something different from 'standard' Indian cusine.

As I noted, we've been there a few times, and plan to return with friends, particularly those for whom the vegetarian approach is a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is probably the best Indian restaurant in Phoenix. Granted, it's the only one I've tried - but why go somewhere else when you've found the best?? They have amazing, authentic food, with a wide array to satisfy practically anyone. The service is great too, very friendly, and the servers are always willing to give their opinion. We've been here at least six times and we've never had a complaint! Always great food and great service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerz360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level Contributor
619 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Try South Indian Food for a change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am familiar with South Indian because we had a Tamil cook once and the food brought back good memories. This is a vegetarian restaurant with many good choices. For appetizers we had the mini Idly platter and the medu Vadai. Idly are steamed rice cakes while the vadai are best described as donuts. For the meal with ordered the tamarind rice and the ghee roast dosai (think huge, butter covered crepe). We also ordered a side of Naan. All of the food was excellent although the rice was a little understated. I also should note that they serve water the non-American way, chilled without ice. So, five dots for the excellent food.

Service was very good, our dishes came out quickly. Value was excellent, we had a coupon and they have shown up on restaurant.com so five dots. Atmosphere was excellent, the restaurant is fairly new and in great shape. Over all, five dots, we will be back again.

I should note that we went for dinner, for lunch they appear to have a buffet which shuts down and there is a break between services.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Madras Bhavan also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ananda Madras Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing