We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very friendly staff, nice rooms (though nothing spectacular), decent breakfast. For the location the prices were great, and the location is convenient to a lot of restaurants, gas stations, and the airport. If you're looking for a good night's stay, this is the place, it you're looking for 4-star, not so much.

Room Tip: I've stayed n two different rooms at this location, not really much difference between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    107
    81
    48
    59
See reviews for
95
73
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I would have liked clean towels and linen. The stains would be easily removed with bleach. Also room phone didn't work. However all staff, especially management, was extremely nice. The air would also decrease at night leaving the room hot. But during the day air conditioning was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Pamella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for reviewing us. I am aware of the linen problem and we are in the process of replacing it. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

After staying for four nights in 2013 I stayed for eight nights this time since I knew from my previous experience that THIS was the place to stay in Phoenix. No. 1: great wifi, never a problem (included in the room price). No. 2: great breakfast (open at 6 a.m.), with choice of self-made waffle, boiled egg, cereal, oatmeal, milk, banana, orange, orange and apple juice, choices of yoghurt, and plenty of coffee (in the room also). No. 3: great manager and staff. Walt Schemm, the manager, has a no-nonsense exterior and is really a good guy once you get to know him. If you have a problem, he will handle it. No. 4: great room, with microwave and fridge. No. 5: great location, with a 10-minute walk to downtown (where parking is an issue). With rush-hour traffic coming in in the morning, you'll be headed out. In the afternoon you'll be headed back in while the traffic will, again, be headed in the opposite direction. You're also quite close to the airport. If you do book, tell Walt I sent you. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We are glad you came back and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerman, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here on a great weekend with my son and I.
I will start off with the Con's, but there wasnt alot,
When we were there, we noticed that there was a long strand of hair in the bathroom, since it was my son and I, it wasnt ours. I told the cleaning lady, and she did take care of it, but wasnt that suppose to be her job anyway. All i want is a clean bathroom. I did notice another review that had this same problem.
Pro's:
It was close to downtown, that was nice since i have never been in that city. The room was clean, smelled clean and the floors were also clean. The staff was nice. In fact they allowed me to check in around 10:00 AM because they had a room that was vacant. We were able to put our stuff down and go enjoy the game. Breakfast was also good. They had a waffle maker, yogurt, fruit, coffee, for us it was all we needed. Also we were ten minutes away from the airport. So if you have an early flight, this may be a great option for you without paying the high prices of another hotel. The price was average, no extra high fees that i could think of. We felt safe in the area around us. They do have a pool, but we didn't even look at it.i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs may be more quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWMKerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#95 of 174 in Phoenix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Econo Lodge Airport
#80 of 174 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Property: Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Address: 965 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85006-3369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phoenix Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated property is located just minutes from the Phoenix Convention Center, Chase Field and the US Airways Center. 100% Smoke Free property. Full service quality at less than half the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Super Eight Phoenix
Phoenix Super Eight
Phoenix Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing