We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Whittier
1 review
“great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Thu was place was vet clean. The personnel I dealt with were very nice and helpful I would recommend this place to all

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for the review. We find all input (good or Bad) helpful. Please recommend us to your friends so we can have some new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    108
    81
    49
    59
See reviews for
96
74
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stopped by here when with friends during our trip. It was a great location, room was clean, service was good, pool pretty good also, breakfast was nice too and overall is a great stop if you are looking to stay in Phoenix. Receptionist was very helpful and the city is within easy walking distance. Only drawback being the Phoenix heat! Air con meant this was no problem in the room though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mx_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Boy, if we could do something about the heat but we keep it cool in the rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Room was reserved a tenant. Price was quoted at $62 plus tax at 1:36pm. Form was faxed over within 15 minutes. I called at 2:08pm to verify the for had been received to make sure the tenants had the room lined up. Rep said yes. They billed it at $79 plus tax. When asked why they changed it in a matter of minutes the manager said it wasn't their responsibility to be consistent with the pricing even over a 15 minute span. I had booked this hotel for tenant convenience but will never book another super 8 due to this deception and poor customer service.

Room Tip: new and honest staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are sorry you feel that way. Unfortunately that when you called to check rates you did not book a room at that time. By the time you got back to us the rates had gone up. We did not have a $62.00 rate that day at all. You were explained this yesterday when you called. Rates raise automatically based on rooms sold, so ratesm are not guarenteed until booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#95 of 174 in Phoenix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Econo Lodge Airport
#81 of 174 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Property: Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Address: 965 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85006-3369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phoenix Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated property is located just minutes from the Phoenix Convention Center, Chase Field and the US Airways Center. 100% Smoke Free property. Full service quality at less than half the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Super Eight Phoenix
Phoenix Super Eight
Phoenix Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing