We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow free wifi, noisy, convenient to downtown, inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #118 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is a 10 or 20 minute walk from downtown. This hotel seems to be just a bit outside the "nice" area of town (shopping malls, universities, museums). Instead, the hotel was in an area that was more run-down. It did NOT seem unsafe to us.

The wifi is free. There was an option to pay for higher speed. Free speed limited to 60kb/sec download speed, and it might have been slower than that at times. Youtube type streaming videos had to load for awhile before they would start playing. Wifi wasn't working one night out of 7; it started working again after a couple hours.

The room does NOT smell strongly nor smell bad; this is the most important thing for me. There was a slight smell of cleaning products, but it was not strong or objectionable.

Includes small fridge and microwave, in-room coffee maker and ironing board.

There was some road noise at night, but probably a normal amount of noise for anyone accustomed to living downtown. Cars and trucks driving by could be heard clearly. There wasn't any honking of horns, except for one night when a car alarm went off several times. Also, neighbors heaters made noise as though it was windy outside.

The refrigerator seemed noisy, but that might be normal, I'm not used to having a fridge running near where I'm trying to sleep. Also this won't be a problem if you aren't using the fridge.

In our room, when we turned on the heater or air conditioner, it blew behind the curtains and made the curtains billow out into the room. It would have been annoying, but we didn't use the heater or air conditioner much at all. In february, we didn't need any climate control. Maybe we could have placed heavy things on the window sill to keep the curtain against the window.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 858KevinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I assure that we are in a very safe location. The Convention Bureau would not recommend our location if it was unsafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mingmin Gu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location near downtown and lots of free parking but not in an area where you'd stroll after dark. Room was clean but very stale smelling. Breakfast was sorely lacking so don't expect too much. We were there 4 nights and Wifi reception was sketchy......was able to use it very little.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mjandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Yes, this place has boiled eggs for breakfast. Plus, yoghurt, oatmeal, waffles, orange juice, and fruit. For a do-it-yourselfer I can't recall a better breakfast. The blond lady on the front desk is REAL helpful and nice, and the heavy-set guy looks a bit gruff, but I had a problem with my refrigerator and he had Michael the maintenance guy over to fix it in minutes. The wi-fi worked without a hitch. If you've got business in downtown Phoenix this is a really good bet because you can likely walk from here, and parking is virtually non-existent. Chase Field is a 15-minute walk. I expect to stay here again next March, so save me a room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Elliott M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Who knew this would be such a pleasant surprise. The rooms are newly remodelled with a desk, microwave, large fridge, flat screen TV, nice bathroom, and air conidtioner. Room service provided by Z Pizza. Top it all with great rates, free internet, and free breakfast. There is a Circle K mart across the street for teats and water. One block away is a great Mexican restaurant (get the carnitas plate). It is only a few blocks away from downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longaniza43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you the nice review. We hope you can come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Encanto
Hilton Phoenix Suites
Hilton Phoenix Suites
#33 of 174 in Phoenix
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Airport Marriott
#62 of 174 in Phoenix
398 reviews
Hilton Phoenix Chandler
#4 of 34 in Chandler
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Address: 965 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85006-3369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phoenix Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated property is located just minutes from the Phoenix Convention Center, Chase Field and the US Airways Center. 100% Smoke Free property. Full service quality at less than half the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Super Eight Phoenix
Phoenix Super Eight
Phoenix Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing