We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great. 3.5/5 but I'll round down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Overall, the holiday was good - but not amazing. The unit had some disappointments: towels were old and had a brown stain on them which was the biggest shocker, no complimentary housekeeping was offered for the entire week unless you paid $30-$60 and the walls were quite thin - I frequently heard loud noises coming from other units. There was limited cutlery and no bowls provided in the kitchenette. Besides that, the other unit amenities were good, comfortable bed, nice balcony and the HD TV and free wireless was nice also.

The resort itself was lacking in pools for adults, however, free usage of the adjoining JW Marriott pools was great and I was over there quite often. The villas really need to convert the 'quiet' pool which is a hot tub and the lizard pool for kids into adult pools or build new ones. The shuttles running back and forth to the JW Marriott and Marketplace were reliable too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jarod181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Canyon Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 789 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

First the BAD!
BUGS!! They must not spray for them here. This place was infested with ants. Crawling up walls all over the floors, YUK!
I am a Rewards Member with Marriott and specifically asked for a room in a quiet location and they put us in a room right on Tatum Blvd and overlooking the Kiddee pool, So much for quiet.
THEN THE GOOD!
The good about this property is there rooms, very nice, (except for ants), The JW Marriott is right next door and has a lazy river pool which is nice on these hot summer days. This resort is great for families with small children.

The Canyon Villas are not close to anything, 15 minutes to Scottsdale, 25 Minutes to Tempe or Mesa. The shuttle bus to the JW is every 30 minutes or so, Room service is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunbaby39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My parents traded one of their east coast timeshare weeks for a week at the Canyon Villas, and they invited my wife and I to join them in a 2-bedroom villa. We had a fantastic week full of swimming, sunbathing, and eating, peppered with day-trips to the Grand Canyon and Sedona. I'll break my review into sections.
THE ROOM: We had a 2-bedroom villa in building 3400, which is the northernmost building, though still not too far from the front desk and the main pool. The villa is nicely decorated and is spacious enough to host guests. Each bedroom is large and features a large (37"?) flat screen TV. My wife and I were in the second bedroom and had our own balcony/lanai overlooking the kids splash pool. We also had a separate entrance and small kitchenette area. Overall the room was great for us. If you prefer a quieter location, ask to be placed in a room on the southern end of the resort to be away from the road and the kids pool.
CANYON VILLA AMENITIES: The resort had plenty to do, in addition to being a beautiful place for a nice walk. We spent a lot of time by the main pools. There were a lot of kids who were generally well-behaved, but there was still enough room to move around and snag a good lounge chair. There are two areas where lounges are placed under misters. Much to my surprise, they don't get you that wet, so you can read a book under them while enjoying what feels like AC! I wasn't impressed by the food at the Canyon Springs bar, but it was decent (and the staff was friendly).
We also took advantage of the well-appointed fitness center, which has a good variety of new machines. Confusingly, however, the cardio and weight rooms are adjacent to one another, but you have to go outside (and use your key card) to pass between them. We also attended a yoga class led by a human instructor one day (on other days, yoga is led by a DVD!). We also made use of the grills distributed throughout the property. There are many more amenities but we didn't take advantage of them.
JW MARRIOTT AMENITIES: We often walked over to the JW Marriott across the street (we never were able to catch the shuttle - it's a short walk anyway) to use the pools and to dine out. The pool area is very nice - who can resist a lazy river? We liked the nearby serpentine pool because it was quieter and offered natural shade from trees. The pool area restaurant at the JW was much better than at the Canyon Villas. There is chair-side food and beverage service there too. Just be sure to ask for a full menu when they come by - the laminated sheet they distribute has a fraction of what is offered at the restaurant. Roy's Hawaiian Fusion restaurant has "Aloha Hour" with drink specials and appetizers for $5 each - quite a deal. In my opinion, you can skip all the other appetizers and order the sliders - they're incredible and the sweet potato fries they come with are really tasty! Great staff there too. We also had dessert only at Meritage, the steakhouse at the JW. The restaurant was mostly empty and service was awkward, but it was nice nonetheless. The decor is nice but I am always weirded out by cowhide (fake or not), which adorns the chairbacks. We attended the stargazing event at the JW one night. There were a lot of kids with parents that were more interested in seeing Saturn than keeping their kids from throwing pebbles at ducks. It basically turned into a kid's program, so we left (after having seen Saturn, of course!).
OUTSIDE THE RESORT: The Desert Ridge Marketplace is down the road and offers a bunch of restaurants and shops. Sadly, most of them are found in every other shopping center in America (CPK, Rock Bottom, Macaroni Grill, TGI Friday's, etc.). There is also an In-n-Out Burger which I indulged in (animal style!). Upon check-in, the Canyon Villas provides a coupon book for various stores and restaurants at the marketplace. We used 4-5 of these coupons and saved a bit of money.
Sedona is a 2-hour drive and the Grand Canyon is four hours away. We visited Montezuma's Castle and drove through Sedona on our way to the Canyon, where we spent one night at a cheapo hotel in order to get more time seeing the world's largest hole. Sedona was worth a second trip, where we took (and thoroughly enjoyed) a Pink Jeep tour. On our last night we drive through Scottsdale. We wish we had thought of it sooner - we would have spent more time in downtown Scottsdale if we could have.
Overall, it was a fantastic vacation made more fantastic by our stay at the Villas. We highly recommend it for anyone, especially families with children. We may be back someday with little ones of our own!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fijalclarkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This was our second stay at the Canyon Villas Resort. We just love it here! The staff has repeatedly been attentive and willing to accommodate our needs. The concierge is a great resource and hasn't steered us wrong yet. The resort grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. There are several pools in the complex, some for children and some for adults, making it ideal for family vacations or quiet weekend getaways. The larger villa rooms are perfect for traveling with families. The rooms are tastefully decorated and large enough to move around in without feeling cramped. Our first visit was spent exclusively on the property and there was more than enough to do. There are activities scheduled at both the Villas resort and the hotel resort daily, so its easy to keep yourself entertained. The resort is situated next to a large shopping center and is easily accessible from a main thoroughfare but still has a secluded, "island" feel. Our second trip was spent exploring the area. We liked the shopping and dining in Scottsdale particularly.

The resort is definitely family friendly, but keep in mind there are areas of the complex and activities that might not be. Don't be surprised if you get a few annoyed looks from fellow guests if you stumble into the wrong area with your own brood.

Did I mention we love it here?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWsogetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We spent four nights here in the fall, when the weather was about mid-80's every day. This property is very new and modern, and the rooms / units are all five-star quality. The pool complexes are very nice too - but, they were quite crowded every day. The better option is to go across the road to the J.W. Marriott, because you get free access there, and they have huge pools and a lazy river and generally much bigger grounds. The pool restaurant is suprisingly good. At least half the people staying here have kids, so it's family friendly.

The location is way north in Phoenix though, it's literally out in the desert. While it's scenic, if you want to go to Scottsdale or go tour or golf or whatever somewhere that isn't north, it's going to take a while. There are restaurants and stores in the area, as it appears that the city is creeping out that way, but all the shopping centers are new and bland and feel like some kind of exurban photocopy. Wasn't able to golf so can't comment on the course other than that it looked nice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This resort was the perfect fit for a week of rest and relaxation. There was a great mix of guests - from families to groups of friends to seniors. We were happy to find the villa was well appointed and very comfortable. We were able to make a location request before arrival and were so happy that the staff could accommodate our request. The fitness area was well-equipped and we used it most mornings of our stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating - especially the team at the poolside grille. We liked that the villas were located near the Desert Ridge Marketplace and all the restaurant choices nearby. The shuttle to the JW resort was convenient and we loved the various happy hour specials over there. Their pool and lazy river were pretty incredible. We're not golfers, but we heard good things about the course from the other guests.

We took a day trip to Sedona, stopping at Montezuma's Castle on the way. Staying in North Phoenix makes the trip to Sedona a bit shorter. We also made sure to visit Cave Creek and Carefree - two cute little towns less than 10 miles away with very friendly people.

Without a doubt, the Canyon Villas provides the perfect backdrop to anyone's vacation - whether you are seeking someplace to hang your hat and chill out for a while, or looking for a base camp to return to after your other desert adventures.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnlimitedSmileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We have traveld a lot with out Marriott timeshare and none so far compares to the excellency of the Canyon Villas. We have spent a very leasurely and relaxed week in the abolutely clean (and I am very picky about that) and newly furnished apartment on the ground floor. There is even a water fountain installed in the wall to keep the dryness of the air moderate. Between the building complexes there is a big garden space which makes the villa patio very private. We enjoyed cooking with the fresh herbs growing right outside the patio and they have every imaginable herb. There are BBQs right out to the left, close enough to take our food there easily but far enough off to not be bothered by other BBQers.
To the pool areas it was a short nice walk through the garden and were luckily either to the left or the right side of the apartment. There is a quiet spool (huge hot tub but not as hot as a real hot tub). Behind the reception is the main pool area with a big nice temperatured pool with a water fall and 2 hot tubs with one water fall each plus a little lap pool.
If this is not enough you can take a shuttle to the adjacent Marriott Hotel and use all the amenities there. We took the car over and some just walked through the golf course. The hotel is very tranquil, especially the outside setting with the Hawaiian restaurant and pretty pond is great for a cocktail in the evening.
The pool area doesn't look big at first sight but opens up to different levels and curves around the property. This gives you much more privacy. Behind the pool is another lovely pond which has a great view over the golf corse and to the mountains. The lazy river with the free tubes are great for kids and adults as well. Floating by and watching birds, ducks and bunnies. The jack rabbits are all over and just so cute! The pools have all different temperatures from warm to hot. So no freezing anywhere around your belly line when getting in, which I loved!
Right next to the Marriott properties is a mall which offers the big name stores but also has an outside pedestrian type shopping area too. There is a little place there with a water fountain where kids can get in and play. To be crazy enough they turn on a huge outside fire place despite 90°F just for the looks of it.
Go there it's great! Who needs the Grand Canyon, if you can stay at Canyon Villas?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picasso_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Desert Ridge
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $168 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing